Planning Commission



PlanComm_2016The Planning Commission is supported by the Department of Community Development and is an advisory board to the Board of Supervisors. The Planning Commission’s responsibilities include providing recommendations to the Board of Supervisors for Special Exceptions, Rezonings, Comprehensive Plan Amendments and on other related land development issues. The Planning Commission updates the Comprehensive Plan on a periodic basis, and prepares text amendment changes to the Zoning and Subdivision Ordinances upon its own initiative or Board of Supervisors' direction.

The Planning Commission meets once a month with at least one work session held during the month. The meeting day is organized into a morning/afternoon work session, an afternoon meeting and public hearings conducted in the evening. Meetings are typically held on the third Thursday of each month (see schedule links at bottom of page).

Members are appointed to 4 year terms.


Board Member/Staff Representing Term Expiration
Adrienne Garreau
Chairperson, Scott District 
John Meadows
Vice Chairperson, Lee District
Ken Alm
Center District 
G. Robert Lee
Marshall District
Matthew Smith
Cedar Run District
Holly Meade*
Chief of Planning (Staff)
Phone: (540) 422-8210
Meredith Meixner

Administration (Staff)


 *Denotes Staff Lead

Additional Links 

Planning Commission  Special Exception Process  Rezoning


04/20/2017 6:30 PM Not Included
05/18/2017 6:30 PM Not Included
06/15/2017 6:30 PM Not Included
07/20/2017 6:30 PM Not Included
08/17/2017 6:30 PM Not Included
09/21/2017 6:30 PM Not Included
10/19/2017 6:30 PM Not Included
11/16/2017 6:30 PM Not Included
12/21/2017 6:30 PM Not Included