Board of Supervisors Meeting Date:


Richard Robison, Center District Supervisor


February 17, 2004

Staff Lead:



Frederick P.D. Carr, Director


Community Development



Draft Strategic Transportation Plan


Topic Description:


The Strategic Transportation Plan integrates the Board of Supervisors adopted transportation elements of the Bealeton, Calverton, Catlett, Midland, Opal and Remington Service District Plans into a single coordinated document.   It covers roadways, bikepaths, airport access and future Virginia Railway Express (VRE) Service, and its objective is to serve as the staging and blueprint for transportation planning and implementation in Fauquier County.

Requested Action of the Board of Supervisors:


Conduct a work session.

Financial Impact Analysis:



Summary Staff Report:

Kellerco and the Advisory Committee members will provide the Strategic Transportation Plan briefing to the Board of Supervisors.


Development of a Strategic Transportation Plan was a Board of Supervisors’ priority in 2003, and initiated by former Supervisor Sharon McCamy.  The document is an action program that represents the coordinated staging for transportation elements of selected service district plans.  Included within the document is also a prioritized “road map” of actions necessary to implement key components of these plans.  For example, this document can be used in the development of Board of Supervisors’ recommendations to VDOT regarding specific County priority projects needing to be placed in the Six Year Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). 


At present, the Strategic Transportation Plan includes the adopted elements of the Bealeton, Calverton, Catlett, Midland, Opal and Remington Service District Plans.  The next planned step is to include Marshall, New Baltimore and Warrenton Service Districts in FY 2005, if authorized by the Board of Supervisors.


With assistance from the County’s transportation consultant, Richard Keller (Kellerco), the Draft Plan was prepared through an Advisory Committee composed of the following individuals:  (1) Larry Mason, Lee District Transportation Committee; (2)  John Meadows, Planning Commission (Lee District) and BZA; (3) Jim Stone, Planning Commission Chairman (Cedar Run); (4) Jim VanLuven, BZA; and (5) George Muschamp, Parks & Recreation Board.  John Meadows, Larry Mason and Jim VanLuven also were members of the Citizen Planning Committees which prepared the Bealeton, Opal and Remington Service District Plans for Board of Supervisors consideration and adoption.   The latter referenced comprehensive plan effort covered 27 months of effort which included significant citizen participation, numerous public meetings and workshops, the requisite public hearings, and final Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors review and action.


In developing this more refined blueprint for action, it was necessary to evaluate the typical VDOT roadway planning process, and to develop a program which would result in the effective separation of local and regional traffic and its impact on the more populated service districts.  In the work session, that objective will be discussed in more detail with specific examples of the emerging problems and solutions that need to be considered. 


One unique aspect of the Strategic Transportation Plan is that it presents two discrete scenarios, both starting with the adopted transportation elements of the Bealeton, Calverton, Catlett, Midland, Opal and Remington Service District Plans, but ending with dramatically difference results.  Scenario A represents what occurs if the County chooses not to implement its plan, while Scenario B illustrates the long-term result if the plan is implemented with VDOT assistance.

Identify any other Departments, Organizations or Individuals that would be affected by this request:


Town of Remington




Note:  At this stage, the Draft Strategic Transportation Plan is not available in electronic format.  It can be reviewed upon request in the Department of Community Development.  Copies of the Plan will be provided the Board of Supervisors.