Board of Supervisors Meeting Date:

R. Holder Trumbo, Scott District Supervisor


June 12, 2008

Staff Lead:


Frederick P.D. Carr, Director


Community Development


A Resolution Creating the Transportation Impact Fee Advisory Committee


Topic Description:

The proposed resolution creates a Transportation Impact Fee Committee for the purpose of providing advisory recommendations to the Board of Supervisors regarding the required ordinance and proposed fees for “designated impact fee service areas.”  Details are presented below in the Summary Staff Report.  


Requested Action of the Board of Supervisors:

Consider adoption of the attached resolution.

Financial Impact Analysis:

None is required.


Summary Staff Report:

Background Information:

The Department and Joe Mehra, our consultant, will be completing the transportation modeling for existing conditions and build-out for the New Baltimore Service District at the end of June.  The next task will drafting cost estimates for the traffic impact fees, which is targeted for completion in July.  We are also updating the transportation modeling (2004 Base Year) for Bealeton, Opal and Remington Service Districts and proposed impact fees to coincide with the study years for the NBSD modeling, and to comply with Virginia Code changes.  This work should be completed in late August or early September.

We now need the Board of Supervisors to create a Transportation Impact Fee Advisory Committee pursuant to §15.2-2319 of the Virginia Code. As stated in the code, the Committee can have no fewer than 5 members and no more than 10 members.  40% of its appointed membership must be from the development, building and real estate industries.  The Committee serves in an advisory role to assist and advise the Board of Supervisors regarding the specific implementing ordinance and proposed transportation impact fees for designated areas.  The state regulation concludes by stating no “action of the Committee shall be considered a necessary prerequisite for any action taken by” the Board of Supervisors in regard to the adoption of transportation impact fees and the requisite ordinance.


The Department recommends that the Board of Supervisors use the citizen appointments from the five magisterial districts already serving on the Transportation Committee as the base membership.  The current Magisterial District representatives are:  (1) Matthew Smith (Cedar Run); (2) Bill Nace (Center); (3) Larry Mason (Lee); (4) Sam Poles (Marshall); and (5) Peter Eltringham (Scott).  To meet the 40% rule referenced above, the Board would need only to add two members to this impact fee committee from the development, building and real estate industries, since Matthew Smith, Transportation Committee Chairman, already meets the criteria.  Therefore, the Transportation Impact Fee Committee would total 7 members at this time.

The first step will be to create the Transportation Impact Fee Committee by resolution.  The second step would be the Board of Supervisors appointment of its membership by the September 11, 2008 meeting.  The Department staff would then start briefing the Committee on the Virginia Code requirements, share what other communities have already adopted, and provide the technical information, modeling, and road projects serving as the base for the Bealeton/Opal/Remington and New Baltimore Service Districts proposed transportation impact fees.  The Department estimates recommendations could be forthcoming from this Committee for Board consideration by the April/May 2009 timeframe.


Identify any other Departments, Organizations or Individuals that would be affected by this request:

County Attorney
Department of Community Development
Virginia Department of Transportation
Residential and Business Developers

Back to Agenda...