A Resolution to the Virginia Board of Historic Resources and

the National Park Service Supporting the Inclusion of Hume on

the Virginia Landmarks and National Registers

WHEREAS, the historic village of Hume encompasses approximately 63 acres surrounded by pristeen rolling farmland between Big Cobbler and Buck Mountains in the center of the John Marshall-Leeds Manor National Register Rural Historic District; and

WHEREAS, this village was first known as Barbee’s Cross Roads, named for the operator of one of the County’s few surviving early taverns at the intersection of Leeds Manor and Hume Roads, with Leeds Manor being the road that first linked the county seat at Warrenton with the Shenandoah Valley; and  

WHEREAS, Hume was presumably named so in honor of “Jacob Hume” who was a  longtime large landholder in the immediate area, and Hume has been the site of two churches, several schools, five small stores, home to both African-Americans and whites, with 60 historic buildings representing this unique history from 1797 to 1952; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Landmarks and a National Register District designations are high honors to bestow on a community; and  

WHEREAS, this architectural history is being completed as part of a Board of Supervisors multi-year program to document 21 of the County’s towns and villages for inclusion on the National Register; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Fauquier County Board of Supervisors this 8th day of November 2007, That the Board hereby supports and encourages the Virginia Board of Historic Resources to include the Hume National Register Historic District, located in the Marshall Magisterial District, in the Virginia Landmarks Register; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Board of Supervisors encourages the Virginia Board of Historic Resources to recommend to the National Park Service, due to the established and unique history and National significance of Hume, that this village be enrolled in the National Register of Historic Places.

Back to Agenda...