A Resolution to the Virginia Board of Historic Resources and the National Park Service Supporting the Inclusion of Paris on the Virginia Landmarks and National Registers

WHEREAS, Paris was established by the Virginia General Assembly in 1810; and

Whereas, the land on which Paris is located was originally part of Thomas Lord Fairfax’s Leeds manor, and in 1786 was deeded to Peter Glascock, with settlement occurring in the late eighteenth century; and

WHEREAS, a post office was established in the community in 1800, making it the second oldest established post office in Fauquier County; and

WHEREAS, 34 properties with 52 contributing dwellings, churches, commercial buildings, a former school, and outbuildings in the compact 32 acre Paris Historic District illustrate the community’s development over a period of 196 years; and

WHEREAS, more than half of the buildings in the district date to the period from circa 1810 to 1850, in addition to a cemetary; and

WHEREAS, Paris is located at the northern end of the Crooked Run Valley Rural Historic District, which was listed on both the Virginia Landmarks Register and the National Register of Historic Places in 2004; and

WHEREAS,  the architectural resources in Paris portray it as it would have appeared in the 1800s, before it was bypassed by the routing of the Manassas Gap Railroad to the south in 1852; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Fauquier County Board of Supervisors this 9th day of November 2006, That the Board hereby supports and encourages the Virginia Board of Historic Resources to include the Paris Historic District, located in the Marshall Magisterial District, in the Virginia Landmarks Register; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Virginia Board of Historic Resources recommend to the National Park Service, due to the established and unique history and National significance of Paris, that this community be enrolled in the National Register of Historic Places.


Back to Agenda...