Sponsor:                                                                                   Board of Supervisors

Raymond E. Graham, Chairman, Cedar Run District                        Meeting Date:

Staff Lead:                                                                                  November 18, 2002

Anthony I. Hooper, Assistant County Administrator                          Department:

                                                                                                   County Administration


An Ordinance Amending Section 7-2 of the Code of Fauquier County to Change Various Voting Places Within the County

Topic Description:

On July 15, 2002, the Board of Supervisors conducted a work session with the Board of Elections to review the location of precinct polling places and to consider a plan to bring polling places into compliance with ADA requirements.  As a result of the work session, it is proposed that six polling locations be changed.  These changes place the polling locations in public buildings utilizing five new schools and the Marshall Community Center .  Coordination is on going with the school system. On October 21, 2002 , the Board of Supervisors conducted a public hearing to receive citizen comments, and the matter was continued for a final decision until the next regularly scheduled Board meeting on November 18, 2002 .   Below is a listing of the revised voting precincts with the proposed new locations underlined:

1.      Cedar Run Magisterial District

a.       Opal precinct – Liberty High School

b.      Casanova precinct – Dominion Virginia Power Building

c.       Catlett precinct – Catlett Fire Hall

d.      Kettle Run precinct – St. Stephen’s Church

e.       Lois precinct – Mary Walter Elementary School

2.      Center Magisterial District

a.       Airlie precinct – Bradley Elementary School

b.      Baldwin Ridge precinct – P. B. Smith Elementary School

c.       Courthouse precinct – Warren Green Building

d.      Warrenton precinct – Old Central Elementary School Building

3.      Lee Magisterial District

a.       Morrisville precinct – Mary Walter Elementary School

b.      Bealeton precinct – Cedar Lee Middle School

c.       Remington precinct – M. M. Pierce Elementary School

4.      Marshall Magisterial District

a.       Leeds precinct – Emmanuel Episcopal Church

b.      Marshall precinct – Marshall Community Center and Annex

c.       Waterloo precinct – Fauquier High School

5.      Scott Magisterial District

a.       Broad Run precinct – Lutheran Church (at Route 605)

b.      New Baltimore precinct – C. Hunter Ritchie Elementary School

c.       The Plains precinct – Grace Episcopal Church

Requested Action of the Board of Supervisors:

Consider adoption of the attached Ordinance. 

Fiscal Impact:

The proposed change in polling places will reduce costs to achieve compliance with ADA provisions.

Identify Any Other Departments, Organizations or Individuals That Would be Affected by This Request:

County Attorney

Board of Elections

Fauquier County School Board