Circuit Court Clerk Offices
home     government     calendars     what's new     education     doing business     visitors
 
           

Concealed Handgun Permits

Concealed Handgun Permits - Fauquier County Residents Only

Application for New and Renewal Permits

You may download the application for a concealed handgun permit from the Virginia State Police Web Site. This web site also contains information regarding other jurisdictions that recognize Virginia permits.

You must file the following with the Clerk:

  1. The original application signed by you in front of a notary
    The original application MUST include:
      1. Firearms Competence Certificate OR proof of current permit
                
  2. The filing fee of $50.00 payable to the Clerk, Circuit Court of Fauquier County.  (This includes $35.00 for the cost of investigation by the local Sheriff, $5.00 to the State Police and $10.00 to the Clerk)  CREDIT CARDS ARE NOT ACCEPTED

You may mail the application to 29 Ashby Street, Warrenton, Virginia 20186 or bring the packet to our office in person from 8am - 4pm Monday through Friday, except legal holidays.

If the application is granted, the concealed handgun permit will be mailed to you.  You may request the Clerk to hold the permit for pickup by you.  If the application is denied, you will be sent written notice of the reason for the denial.

 

Request for Replacement Permit

You may request a replacement permit if the original permit is lost or stolen, or is you need to report an address change or a name change by completing the Request for Duplicate Permit form and paying the required fee.

The fee for the replacement is as follows:

  1. Request for replacement due to loss: $5.00
  2. Request for address change: $10.00
  3. Request for name change: $5.00



Additional Information

For Selected State Laws concerning firearms, you may view the Virginia State Police website: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_StateLaws.shtm

For a summary of laws concerning the carrying of concealed handguns, you may also review the Virginia State Police website: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_ResidentConcealed.shtmWhereUnlawfultoCarry

Date Last Modified: 01/09/2015

 
 


Search :
Copyright 2001 - Fauquier County. All rights reserved.