The following persons are Civil Celebrants located in Fauquier County who are authorized to perform Civil Marriage Ceremonies. Call to make an appointment:
Bernard van Gils, Attorney, (540) 351-0890For information regarding the fee for the ceremony, see Section 20-27 of the Code of Virginia, as amended.
Jud Fischel, Attorney, 24 Ashby Street (540) 347-1011
Rose Marie Dorer, Civil Celebrant (703) 447-1559 or (540) 349-4773
Nancy Powers Heidt, Civil Celebrant, (540) 364-1212 or (540) 323-0511
Tammy Jo Price, Civil Celebrant, (540) 379-8314 or (571) 481-0615
Sandra Roszel, Civil Celebrant, (540) 219 1720 or (540) 364-4044
David Hakola, Civil Celebrant, (703) 203-5445
Donna Jean Ruland, Civil Celebrant, (703) 371-9653
Jennifer R. Moore, Attorney, (540) 687-0618
Daniel McLinden, Civil Celebrant, (540) 349-0035
Mary C. Sullivan, Civil Celebrant, 540-270-4015
Ramona McLinden, Civil Celebrant, (540) 349-0035
Obtaining a Marriage License
Marriage licenses are issued by the Clerk of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Court Clerk's Office is located at 29 Ashby Street, Warrenton, Virginia. Hours for marriage licenses are 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Monday through Friday and no appointment is necessary. If you have additional questions, please contact our office at 540-422-8100.
- BOTH PARTIES MUST APPEAR IN PERSON.
- There is no requirement for a blood test in Virginia.
- Proof of age is required (valid driver's license, identification card issued
by the DMV, passport, Military ID or other government issued photo ID).
- Minimum age for marriage in the State of Virginia is sixteen years. Consent
to marry must be given by the father, mother, or legal guardian if either party
is under the age of 18. Special provisions are made in Virginia law to allow
marriage for underage parties when the female is pregnant. See the Virginia
Department of Health web site for additional provisions: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/vitalrec/marry.asp
- If you have a Social Security Number it must be included on the license pursuant
to State Law. This information is not maintained on any public record.
- There is no residency requirement.
- A marriage license obtained in any Circuit Court in any county in Virginia
is valid for a ceremony performed anywhere in the state. You do not need to
obtain a marriage license in the county where your ceremony will be performed.
(Directory of Circuit
- The license is valid for only 60 days and may be used immediately upon issuance.
- The ceremony must be performed in Virginia and by a person authorized by
a Virginia circuit court.
- The fee for the license is $30.00 and must be paid by cash, cashier's
check or money order only.
- See the Virginia Department of Health web site for additional provisions: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/vitalrec/marry.asp
To help expedite the licensing process, please print the Marriage Register Information Sheet and bring this completed form with you to our office.
- A marriage entered into prior to the dissolution of an earlier marriage of
one of the parties.
- A marriage between an ancestor and descendent; or between brother and sister;
or between uncle and a niece; or between an aunt and a nephew; whether the
relationship is by the half or the whole blood or by adoption.
- When either of the parties lacks capacity to consent to the marriage because
of mental incapacity or infirmity.
Obtaining a Copy of a Marriage License
We provide certified copies of marriage licenses which were issued in Fauquier County only. For instructions and cost of obtaining copies visit the Records Room section of our website. If you obtained your license in a different county, please contact the Circuit Court in that county (see Directory of Circuit Courts) or the Virginia Department of Health Vital Records Division.
Date Last Modified: 03/26/2015