Architectural Review Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


ARB insignia.b&wThe Fauquier County Architectural Review Board (ARB) was established in 1976 in conformance with a resolution adopted by the Board of Supervisors pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 22, Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. The mission of the ARB is to protect against the deterioration, destruction, and encroachment upon Fauquier County historic properties and cultural areas and to encourage uses that lead to their continuance, conservation, and improvement.  


Through the authority enacted by Article 14, Part 3 of the Fauquier County Zoning Ordinance, the Architectural Review Board is charged with specific duties, including but not limited to:

  • advising and assisting the Board of Supervisors, the Planning Commission and other County departments and agencies in matters involving historically significant sites and buildings, such as appropriate land use on and around historic properties;
  • conducting studies deemed necessary to discern the best means of preserving and utilizing historic assets in the County; and
  • providing public preservation education for Fauquier County citizens and advising historic property owners regarding the best treatment options for historic resources. 


The ARB is comprised of seven (7) regular and voting members, all of whom must be Fauquier County residents with a demonstrated knowledge of and interest in the preservation of historic and architectural landmarks. One member is required to serve from each of the five County magisterial districts; another member is required to represent the Planning Commission; and the last member is designated citizen-at-large. Member terms run in four year increments.


Board Member/Staff Representing Term Expiration
John (Jack) LaMonica
Marshall District
G. Robert Lee
Planning Commission
Kristie Kendall
Cedar Run District
Virginia Gerrish
Center District
John Toler 
Scott District
Bryan Jacobs Lee District 01/14/2020
Mary M. Root
Wendy Wheatcraft*
Community Development (Staff)
Phone: (540) 422-8210
 *Denotes Staff Lead

Additional Links


10/02/2019 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM Not Included
11/06/2019 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM Not Included