Constitutional Officers

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Fauquier County's five Constitutional Officers are elected by the voters at large.  Each officer serves a four-year term, except for the Clerk of the Circuit Court, who serves an eight-year term.

Clerk of the Circuit Court


The Clerk of the Circuit Court serves as the recorder of deeds and probate judge, issues marriage licenses and is the official court administrator for all civil and criminal court cases. In this latter capacity, the Clerk creates and maintains all court files and records, prepares court orders and jury lists, contacts jurors and issues summons and court processes.


Gail Barb

Commissioner of Revenue


Ross W. D'Urso

Commonwealth's Attorney


James P. Fisher



The Office of Sheriff provides all law enforcement services for Fauquier County, including investigating crimes, pursuing offenders and making arrests. The Sheriff maintains the local jail, manages other local corrections programs and transports criminal defendants to and from corrections' facilities. The Sheriff provides courthouse security, serves legal papers, summons jurors and witnesses, and executes court judgments. The Sheriff provides school resource officers. He also provides animal control services.  The Sheriff is assisted by deputy sheriffs who are appointed by the principal officer.

Sheriff Mosier
Robert P. Mosier


Tanya Remson Wilcox