A Guide for Crime Victims and Witnesses

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Fauquier County Sheriff's Office

78 W Lee Street, Warrenton, VA 20186
(540) 422-8600
Non-Emergency (540) 347-3300

 

EMERGENCY CALL 9-1-1

As a victim or witness to a crime, you have certain rights under Virginia's Crime Victim and Witness Rights Act.  

For additional information follow this link to "A Guide for Crime Victims"

If a crime has occurred:

- Call 9-1-1 Immediately,

- When the deputy arrives, explain what happened,

- Plan for your safety - it is important to plan for your safety, and the safety of your children in addition to your    civil and criminal options.

- For help making a personal safety plan, call your local domestic violence program.  Make a list of telephone        numbers for family, friends, doctors and domestic violence programs. 

- If you need assistance from a magistrate and one is not available, please call the Emergency Communications    Division at 540-347-3300 and a deputy will assist you. 

Criminal Options

- If the deputy has probable cause to believe an assault and battery has occurred, the deputy will arrest the        offender.

- If the offender is no longer present, you or the deputy will need to appear before the magistrate to request a      warrant.

- A warrant is a legal order authorizing a law enforcement officer to make an arrest.  It is based on a sworn          statement by you about what happened.

You do not have to be physically injured to apply for a warrant.  A warrant can be issued for threats,        stalking, property damage, trespassing and other crimes. 

- The offender may be released after the arrest.  If released, find out from the jail or magistrate if there are any    conditions of release.

- Magistrates are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 

Civil Options

- The deputy who responds to your call for help may request an emergency protective order over the phone.        The order is in place for 72 hours or until the next court day.  

- If you do not wish to apply for a warrant, or in addition to the warrant, you may ask for a civil protective order from the magistrate or Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court Intake Office.

- Protective orders may order the abuser to stay away from you and to stop assaulting you. 

- The order is only effective if it has been served on the offender.

Going to Court

- If a warrant or preliminary protective order has been issued you will be going to court. 

- Be prepared to provide testimony, evidence and witnesses. 

- Resources are available to assist you when you go to court. 

Fauquier County Sheriff's Office 

Non-Emergency Number

(540) 347-3300

 Warrenton Police Department 

333 Carriage House Lane

(540) 347-1100

Fauquier County Sheriff's Office

Domestic Violence Specialist

Michele Arft

(540) 422-8656

 Magistrate's Office 

(540) 422-8680

 Office of the

Commonwealth's Attorney

29 Ashby Street (4th floor)

(540) 422-8050

 Case Manager for the 

Commonwealth's Attorney

(540) 422-8137

 Juvenile & Domestic Relations Court

Intake Office - Protective Orders

(540) 422-8050

 Fauquier Social Services

(540) 422-8400

 Domestic Violence / Sexual Assault Advocate

Social Services

(540) 422-8460

 Virginia Family Violence & Sexual Assault Hotline

(800) 838-8238

 Virginia Social Services 

Child Abuse Hotline

(800) 552 - 7096

 SAFE for Victims of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault 

24/7 - (800) 825-8876

Office - (540) 825-8891

 Legal Aid Works

(703) 778-6800

www.legalaidworks.org

 (Fraud) FBI Internet Crime

Complaint Center

www.IC3.gov

 Human Trafficking Hotline

(888) 373-7888

Text 233733

www.humantraffickinghotline.org