MISCELLANEOUS ORDER

Book 2017, PG. 200
ORDER

ESTABLISHING UNIFORM FEE GUIDELINES
FOR
COMMISSIONERS OF ACCOUNTS FOR
THE CIRCUIT COURT OF FAUQUIER COUNTY
AND FOR

COMMISSIONERS OF ACCOUNTS FOR
THE CIRCUIT COURT OF RAPPAHANNOCK COUNTY

Effective October 1, 2016
Amended Effective July 1, 2017

ORDERED, that fees approved by this Court for the Commissioners of Accounts
for the Circuit Court of Fauquier County, Virginia and
for the Circuit Court of Rappahannock County, Virginia
shall be as set out below.

By statute, each Circuit Court sets the fees for its Commissioner(s) of Accounts
(including Assistant Commissioners of Accounts and any Deputy Commissioners of
Accounts). This Uniform Fee Schedule Guideline is an attempt to provide uniformity
among the various Circuit Courts.

The Commissioner of Accounts receives no fees from either the State or local
government. His or her fees are derived entirely from filing fees paid by the users of the
system. The Commissioner pays the expenses of operating his or her office out of the
filing fees. These filing fees compensate the Commissioner of Accounts for his or her
work and the work of his or her staff in auditing accounts, answering questions of
fiduciaries, resolving disputes between beneficiaries and fiduciaries, and enforcing the
requirement that fiduciaries file timely and proper accounts.

Inventories Assets Fee
Guardian for Minor Any amount $ 55.00
All others 0- $50,000 110.00
50,001 - 200,000 165.00
200,001 - 500,000 220.00
Above 500,000 275.00

NOTE: Based upon assets under the control of the fiduciary, including real estate
over which the fiduciary has the power of sale, but not including projected income.
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First Account of a Decedent's Estate

Assets from Inventory plus Additions Fee
0- $50,000 T $220.00
50,001 - 100,000 440.00
100,001 - 200,000 550.00
200,001 - 300,000 660.00
300,001 - 500,000 825.00
500,000 - 700,000 990.00
700,001 - 1,000,000 1,320.00
Above 1,000,000 1,320.00
phus 00075 in
excess of

$1,000,000, or as
otherwise set by the
Court.

NOTE: "Assets from Inventory" for a decedent's estate means the probate assets,
including real estate over which the fiduciary has the power of sale (Parts 1 and 3 of
the Inventory). "Additions" are receipts, capital gains, and adjustments (Lines 2, 3,
and 4 of the Account Summary).

Second and Subsequent Accounts of a Decedent's Estate

The fee shall be determined by applying the fee schedule for a First Account to the assets
brought forward (at market value) plus additions during the accounting period.

Statements In Lieu of Account Fee
Statement in Lieu $ 150.00
Notice of Intent to File 75.00

First Account of a Trust or a Conservatorship

Assets from Inventory plus Additions Fee
0- 3$50,000 $ 220.00
50,001 - 100,000 330.00
100,001 - 200,000 440.00
200,001 - 300,000 550.00
300,001 - 500,000 660.00
500,001 - 700,000 770.00
700,001 - 1,000,000 . 880.00
Above 1,000,000 880.00
plus .0005 in
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excess of
$1.,000,000, or as
otherwise set by the
Court.

NOTE: "Assets from Inventory” for a Trust means the Trust Assets, including real
estate over which the Trustee has the power of sale (Parts 1 and 2 of the Inventory)
and "Assets from Inventory" for a Conservatorship means the Conservator Assets,
including real estate over which the Conservator has the power of sale and the
incapacitated person's interest in any real or personal property that will pass to
another at the incapacitated person's death (Parts 1, 2, and 5 of the Inventory).
"Additions" are receipts, capital gains, and adjustments (Lines 2, 3, 4, and 5 for the
Trust and Lines 2b, 3 and 4 for the Consérvatorship).

Second and Subseguent Accounts of a Trust or a Conservatorship

The fee shall be determined by applying the fee schedule for a First Account to
the assets brought forward (at market value) plus additions during the accounting period.
The maximum fee shall not exceed $8,250.00 unless otherwise set by the Court.

NOTE: If the ward is a Medicaid recipient, the maximum account filing fee is $25.00
(Virginia Code Section 64.2-1305).

First Account of a Minor

Assets from Inventory plus Additions Fee
0- $50,000 $110.00
50,001 - 100,000 165.00
100,001 - 200,000 220.00
200,001 - 300,000 275.00
300,001 - 500,000 330.00
500,001 - 700,000 385.00
700,001 - 1,000,000 440.00
Above 1,000,000 440.00
plus .0005 in
excess of

$1,000,000, or as
otherwise set by the
Court.

NOTE: "Assets from Inventory" means the Guardianship assets, including real estate

over which the Guardian has power of sale (Parts 1 and 2 of the Inventory).
"Additions" are receipts, capital gains, and adjustments (Lines 2b, 3 and 4).
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Second and Subsequent Accounts of a Minor

The fee shall be determined by applying the fee schedule for a First Account to
the assets brought forward (at market value) plus additions during the accounting period.
The maximum fee shall not exceed $5,500.00 unless otherwise set by the Court.

Foreclosure Accounts (Interim and Final)

Sale Price Fee

0- $100,000 $275.00
100,001 - 300,000 330.00
300,001 - 450,000 495.00
450,001 - 600,000 660.00
600,001 - 750,000 825.00
750,001 - 900,000 990.00
Above 900,000 1,100.00

Note: The Commissioner may charge an additional fee of $165.00 when the Trustee
is unable to produce the original note, which fee shall be shown on the Account as a
charge to the noteholder.

Taking and Reporting of Debts and Demands

A fee of $275.00 plus costs of advertisement, subject to the provisions below
regarding fees for contested hearings.

Claim Against Estate After Qualification

A fee of $55.00 for each creditor's claim filed with the Commissioner after
qualification other than claims filed in response to a notice of Debts and Demands
hearing. This fee shall be charged to the creditor.

Delinquency Fees (To be collected against the fiduciary personally)

1. Failure to file Inventory in a timely manner resulting in a letter from the
Commissioner: $30.00
Definition. Ior this purpose, “Failure to file Inventory in a timely manner” is defined as:
a. failure to file a proper Inventory in a timely manner, or
b. failure to pay Commissioner or Clerk’s fees associated with the Inventory
within 30 days of the date the fees are billed.

2. Failure to file settlement of Accounts in a timely manner resulting in a letter
from the Commissioner: $30.00
Definition. For this purpose, “Failure to file settlement of Accounts in a timely manner”
is defined as:

a. failure to file a proper Account in a timely manner, or .
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b. failure to pay Commissioner or Clerk’s fees associated with the Account
within 30 days of the date the fees are billed.

3. Issuance of a summons by Commissioner: $85.00

4. Commissioner's report to the Court on failure of fiduciary to comply with
summons: $165.00

5. Commissioner’s Report to Court of delinquent accounts and unsettled
accounts as required by Virginia Code Section 64.2-1216, or Commissionet’s
Supplemental Report or communications with the Court:

(1) to continue the case, or
(2) to remove the case from the docket, or
(3) to remove exceptions, or -
{(4) to deal with any other matter occasioned by fiduciary failure and not
covered by some other part of these Guidelines.
Fee: $100.00

6. Appearance in Court to prosecute Show Cause Order iésued against fiduciary:
$220.00

Increased Fees for Review of Accounts

In any case where the Commissioner deems it appropriate, the Commissioner may seek
Court approval to increase his or her fees. The Commissioner's request for approval of an
increased fee must be made in writing, and include his or her justification for requesting
the increased fee. The Commissioner shall give notice of his request for Court approval
to the fiduciary so that the fiduciary has an opportunity to be heard. When formulating a
request for an increase of the fee, the Commissioner may take into consideration the
following factors:

1. The amount of time spent by the Commissioner and his or her staff in
reviewing the account and the vouchers, as affected by the number of vouchers and the

quality, completeness and accuracy of preparation of the account.

2. The dollar value, number and nature of the assets in the estate, and the assets
outside of the estate which impact on the distribution of the probate estate.

3. The amount of time spent by the Commissioner and his or her staff on research
and rendering decisions on questions of law.

4. The complexity of the estate distribution scheme, including apportionment of
taxes, funding bypass trusts and marital shares or trusts and computations of beneficiary

shares, including elective shares, allowances and exemptions.

5. The necessity for the Commissioner to review tax returns or other documents.
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6. The amount of time spent by the Commissioner and his or her staff addressing
complaints of beneficiaries concerning the account.

7. Any other matters deemed relevant by the Commissioner.

Fees for Services not covered elsewhere in this order.

When the Commissioner of Accounts conducts contested hearings, or confers or
corresponds with fiduciaries, beneficiaries, and/or creditors, or lawyers, accountants, or
agents for any of such persons, or deals with any other aspect of, or matters relating to
fiduciary obligations not normally required to be addressed during the audit and approval
of proper fiduciary affidavits of notice, inventories, and accounts, the Commissioner may
charge a fee based upon hours expended at a rate of $250.00 per hour and a reasonable
hourly fee for staff time, or such other hourly rate set by the Circuit Court for the
Commissioner of Accounts.

When the Commissioner of Accounts conducts a hearing to authorize a
disbursement by the Guardian of a minor, the Commissioner shall not charge a fee in
excess of $100.00 (Virginia Code Section 64.2-1802).

For receiving and filing a written consent to the waiver of filing a Trust Inventory
and/or Trust Account, the fee of the Commissioner of Accounts shall not exceed $25.00
(Virginia Code Section 64.2-1307).

Reduction of Fees

In exceptional circumstances, the Commissioner may reduce any of the forgoing
fees. :

Clerk's Recordation Fee (to be sent to the Commmissioner)

Inventories:  As set pursuant to statute.
Accounts: As set pursuant to statute.

This order shall be spread upon the Civil Order Books of the Circuit Courts of Fauquier
County and Rappahannock County. Copies of this order shall be certified to the
Commissioners and Assistant Commissioners of Accounts in each jurisdiction.
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