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PURPOSE:   

Purpose:  In order to assure the protection of children utilizing Departmental services it is 

imperative that the Department institute all available resources at its disposal.  This policy 

was formulated to provide guidelines that comply with all applicable laws as well as  and 

accepted standards that safeguard children from harm and ensure children’s rights to 

protection from intentional and unintentional  harm, abuse, neglect, and exploitation in any 

form. 

I. Definitions:

Mandated Reporter - Individuals, 18 years or older, who: are employed by Fauquier County Parks

and Recreation, serve as appointed board/committee members on a Fauquier County Parks and

Recreation board or committee, affiliate members,  a hired contractor or volunteer that facilitate

children’s recreation programs/projects.

Training Material - An online training that has been provided by Department of Social Services.

This training will enable those deemed as Mandated Reporters to identify abused and neglected

children and to follow the mandated reporting process necessary to comply with Code of Virginia

63.2-1509 requirements.  A link to this training will be posted on the Fauquier County Parks and

Recreation website.

Reportable Offense – There is a belief that a person who is caring for a child, who lives with a

child, or who with and around children has caused injury or harm or put the child at risk of a

physical injury.

Abused or Neglected Child – Code of VA 63.2-100

(https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter1/section63.2-100/) defines an abused or

neglected child as any child under 18 years of age whose parent or other person responsible for

his or her care:

 causes or threatens to cause a non-accidental physical or mental injury

 has a child present during the manufacture or attempted manufacture of a controlled

substance or during the unlawful sale of such substance where such activity would

constitute a felony violation

 neglects or refuses to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter, emotional nurturing, or

health care

 abandons the child; neglects or refuses to provide adequate supervision in relation to a

child’s age and level of development

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter1/section63.2-100/
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 knowingly leaves a child alone in the same dwelling with a person, not related by blood

or marriage, who has been convicted of an offense against a minor for which registration

is required as a violent sexual offender or

 commits or allows to be committed any illegal sexual act upon a child, including incest,

rape, indecent exposure, prostitution, or allows a child to be used in any sexually explicit

visual material.

II. General

A. All Fauquier County Parks and Recreation Department positions are defined as Mandated

Reporters

B. The department shall utilize training materials provided by the Department of Social

Services.

C. All newly hired employees will be required to view the training materials within 30 days

of assuming the position.

D. All personnel will be required to review the training material annually to ensure all staff

are up to date on any changes to Code of Virginia 63.2-1509.

E. The department will convey to non-departmental organizations, (i.e. affiliated groups,

sports leagues, and other groups using departmental fields/facilities on a regular basis)

their obligation to make sure their staff and volunteers understand their responsibilities

under Code of Virginia 63.2-1509.

https://dss.virginia.gov/abuse/mr.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/dfs/mandated_reporters/cps/resources_guidance/B032-02-0280-00-eng.pdf
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/dfs/mandated_reporters/cps/resources_guidance/B032-02-0280-00-eng.pdf
http://legsearch.state.va.us/search?q=mandated+reporter&Search=search&site=LIS&client=LIS&output=xml_no_dtd&proxystylesheet=LIS&filter=0
http://legsearch.state.va.us/search?q=mandated+reporter&Search=search&site=LIS&client=LIS&output=xml_no_dtd&proxystylesheet=LIS&filter=0



