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Medicare Part D—Prescription Drug Information 

If you (and/or your dependents) are covered by Medicare or will become 
eligible for Medicare in the next 12 months, a Federal law gives you more 

choices about your prescription drug coverage. Please see pages 21 and 22 

for more details. 

This document is an outline of the coverage proposed by the carrier(s), based on information provided by your 
company. It does not include all of the terms, coverage, exclusions, limitations, and conditions of the actual 
contract language. The policies and contracts themselves must be read for those details. Policy forms for your 

reference will be made available upon request.  

The intent of this document is to provide you with general information regarding the status of, and/or potential 
concerns related to, your current employee benefits environment. It does not necessarily fully address all of 
your specific issues. It should not be construed as, nor is it intended to provide, legal advice. Questions 
regarding specific issues should be addressed by your general counsel or an attorney who specializes in this 
practice area. 
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Contact Information  

If  you have specif ic questions about a benefit plan, please contact the administrator listed below , or your human resources 

department.  

Benefit Administrator Phone Website/Email 

Medical Anthem BCBS  
PPO Plans (800) 451-1527 
POS/HMO Plans (800) 421-1800 

Lumenos Plans (800) 421-1880 

www.anthem.com 

Prescription Drug  Anthem BCBS (833) 262-1729 www.anthem.com 

Dental Delta Dental of Virginia (800) 237-6060 www.deltadentalva.com 

Flexible Spending Account 
American Fidelity Assurance 

Company 

Garrick Alden, (877) 518-2337, ext. 749 

Erik Bower, (513) 701-3171, ext. 2738  
www.Americanfidelity.com 

Employee Assistance Program Anthem (800) 346-5484 www.anthemEAP.com 

Optional Term Life Securian (800) 441-2258 www.securian.com 

Voluntary Benefits Aflac James Edmonds, (888) 364-0060 www.aflac.com/fauquiercounty 

Voluntary Benefits 
American Fidelity Assurance 

Company 

Garrick Alden, (877) 518-2337, ext. 749 

Erik Bower, (513) 701-3171, ext. 2738  
www.Americanfidelity.com 

Long Term Care 
Genworth through  
Virginia Retirement System (VRS) 

(888) 827-3847 www.varetire.org 

Retirement Virginia Retirement System (VRS) (888) 827-3847 www.varetire.org 

Retirement—457b & 403b VOYA 
John Brosnahan, (703) 449-2919 
Jane Luke, (703) 449-2913 

www.voya.com 

Human Resources  (540) 422-8300 
www.fauquiercounty.gov/human 

resources 
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Benefits Overview  

Fauquier County Public Schools is pleased to provide you w ith this Benefits Guide and other materials outlining our benefits program 

beginning July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021. In order to provide our employees w ith a competitive benefits package, Fauquier  

County Public Schools w orks w ith our consultants at Gallagher. We review  programs annually, make modif ications that w e feel a re 

appropriate, and offer our employees f lexibility and choice. Fauquier County Public Schools strives to deliver the highest quality, most 

cost effective benefit programs to our employees.  

Enrollment  

Who is Eligible?  

Permanent full-time and permanent part-time active employees w orking at least 20 hours per w eek are eligible to participate in t he 

medical and dental plans.  

Permanent full-time employees are eligible for VRS and V RS group life insurance.  

Enrollment Process 

Dur ing the Open Enrollment period, you make enrollment elections for the upcoming plan year, w hich runs from July 1 st through June 

30th. The deadline for open enrollment is Friday, May 22, 2020.  

Employees w ho are hired after the Open Enrollment period, must complete the online enrollment for benefits w ithin 60 days of your 

hire date. 

Why You Need to Enroll 

If  you do not re-enroll during open enrollment or you miss the deadline after your hire date, you w ill not be able to take advantage of 

the coverages offered until annual open enrollment or a qualifying event.  

When is Coverage Effective  

For those electing coverage dur ing Open Enrollment, coverage w ill become effective July 1st.  

New  hires are eligible for medical, pharmacy and dental insurance on the f irst of the month follow ing your f irst paycheck.   

Benefits Provided to You by Fauquier County Public Schools 

 

 

 

Benefit Plan  
What Fauquier County Public Schools Provides to 
Full-Time Employees 

Basic Life insurance  Annual salary rounded to next highest $1,000 then doubled 

Accidental Death and Dismemberment Annual salary rounded to next highest $1,000 then doubled 

Bereavement Leave  
Up to 4 days paid leave for the death of an immediate family 

member 

Annual Leave 

12-month employees earn one day each month. Accrues on a 

pro-rated basis for part -time employees. After f ive years, leave 

increases based on your length of service w ith Fauquier County 

Public Schools. 

Holidays 

Please refer to policy 5-7.6 for more details. This  

policy can be found at: https://www.boarddocs.com/va/fcps/ 

Board.nsf/Public  

Sick, Personal and PTO Leave  

Fauquier County Public Schools offers sick and personal leave 

or PTO leave. Please refer to policy 5-7.6 for more details. This 

policy can be found at: https://www.boarddocs.com/va/fcps/

Board.nsf/Public  

Other Leave 
Time off may also be granted for jury duty, compensatory leave, 

military leave, educational leave, or volunteer leave. 

VRS Retirement 
Fauquier County Public Schools full-time employees are fully 

vested after 5 years of service 

Employee Assistance Program 
Counseling assistance for employees and their family members 

provided by Anthem 

Workers’ Compensation Benefits in the event of a w ork related illness or injury 

Social Security (FICA / Medicare) Match 100% of your contribution 
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Benefits You Can Choose  

You can elect optional benefits based on your needs.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More for Your Money—Pre-Tax Deductions 

You pay for some of your benefits w ith pre -tax dollars. This means payroll deductions for certain benefits are taken out of your  

paycheck before taxes are calculated. This w ay, your taxable income is reduced, and you pay less in taxes. An example of your  

potential savings is show n below : 

 

 

 

Benefit Plan What you can choose Pre-Tax Deductions Permitted 

Anthem Medical Plans 

You have a choice of plans so that you can 

select the one that best suits the needs of you 

and your family. 
Yes 

Delta Dental of Virginia 

Dental Plans  

A choice betw een Standard Option and High 

Option for you and your family 
Yes 

Flexible Spending Accounts 
Healthcare Spending Account 

Dependent Care Spending Account 
Yes 

VRS Optional Term Life & 

AD&D Insurance Options for 

Your through Minnesota Life 

1x to 4x your compensation up to a maximum of 

$800,000 
No 

Optional Term Life & AD&D 

Insurance Options for Your 

Spouse and/or Children 

through Minnesota Life 

Up to 50% of your optional life insurance benefit No 

Voluntary Insurance 

Programs 

You can participate in a variety of voluntary plans 
including cancer insurance, disability insurance, 

and life insurance. 

Yes 

Comparison Chart Without Pre-Tax Deductions With Pre-Tax Deductions 

Gross Monthly Income $2,500.00 $2,500.00 

Pre-Tax Deduction $0.00 $200.00 

Taxable Income $2,500.00 $2,300.00 

Federal Tax (15%)  $375.00 $345.00 

State Tax (5.75%)  $143.75 $132.25 

FICA Tax (7.65%)  $191.25 $175.95 

After-Tax Deduction $200.00 $0.00 

Monthly Spendable 
Income  

$1,590.00 $1,646.80 

By taking advantage of the pre-tax deduction, this employee w as able to increase his/her spendable income by $56.80 

every month! 

 

Refer to the “Pre-Tax Deductions Permitted” column in the chart above for those benefits that can be paid on a pre -tax 

basis. 
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Fauquier County Public Schools 

Changing Elections 

Your benefit choices w ill be effective from July 1, 2020  through June 30, 2021 and cannot be changed until the next open enr ollment 

period Spring 2021, unless you experience a qualifying life event that allow s a special enrollment.  

Qualifying Life Event – You can change plan elections for yourself or an eligible dependent w ithin 30 calendar days of the specif ied 

qualifying life event (some of w hich are listed below ): 

 Events that change your legal marital status, including marriage, divorce, death of a spouse, or annulment.  

 Events that change your number of dependents, including birth, adoption, placement for adoption, or death of a dependent.  

 Changes in employment status, inc luding termination or commencement of employment by you, your spouse, or dependent.  

 Changes in w ork schedule that reduce or increase the number of hours of employment by the employee, spouse or dependent, 

including a sw itch betw een part-time and full-time, a strike or lockout, or the beginning of or return from an unpaid leave of 

absence. 

 Changes in residence or w orksite of the employee, spouse or dependent if  the change affects your or their eligibility for the plan 

in w hich you are currently enrolled.  

 A signif icant change in the benefits or cost of a dependent’s coverage under their group plan.  

 A dependent satisfying or ceasing to satisfy a plan ’s requirements for eligible dependent (i.e. a dependent child turns age 26 and 

is no longer cons idered a dependent under the terms of the plan). 

 Issuance of a judgment, decree or order (including QMCSO) resulting from divorce or change in legal custody requiring health  

coverage of a child w ho is your dependent.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

If any of these events occur during the year, submit a Life Event through Fauquier ePortal at 
eportal.fauquiercounty.gov. You may be able to make a change to your elections. To make a change in your 

benefit election, you will be asked to provide proof of the event. In all instances, the change must be 
consistent with the type of event that has occurred and must be made within 30 calendar days (60 for 

CHIPRA) of the event. 
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Medical and Prescription Drug Benefits  
Administered by Anthem BCBS 

Comprehensive and preventive healthcare coverage is important in protecting you and your family from the f inancial ris ks of 

unexpected illness and injury. A lit tle prevention usually goes a long w ay—especially in healthcare. Routine exams and regular 

preventive care provide an inexpensive review  of your health. Small problems can potentially develop into large expenses. By 

identifying the problems ear ly, often they can be treated at little cost.  

Comprehensive healthcare also provides peace of mind. In case of an illness or injury, you and your family are covered w ith an 

excellent medical plan through Anthem BCBS.  

Employees have a choice of three plans: KeyCare 15 (PPO), HealthKeepers 20 (POS / HMO Open Access), and the High Deductible 

Lumenos Plan. 

  In-Network Benefits  

KeyCare 15 PPO HealthKeepers 20  

POS / HMO Open Access Lumenos High Deductible—CDHP 

Calendar Deductible 

Indiv idual / Family 
$0 / $0 $0 / $0 $2,000 / $4,000 

Calendar Out-of-Pocket 

Maximum 
Indiv idual / Family 
(includes deductible) 

$2,000 / $4,000 $2,000 / $4,000 $4,000 / $8,000 

Network Anthem KeyCare  Anthem HealthKeepers Anthem HealthKeepers 

Facility Services 

Inpatient $300 copay then 20% 
$200 copay/day not to exceed 

$1,000/admission 
20% after ded  

Outpatient Surgery $100 copay then 20% $200 copay 20% after ded  

Emergency Room  
(Copay Waived if Admitted) $200 copay then 20% $200 copay  20% after ded  

Physician Services 

Primary Care Office Visits $15 copay $20 copay 20% after ded  

Specialist Office Visits  $30 copay  $40 copay 20% after ded  

Urgent Care  PCP $15 copay / Spec. $30 copay  PCP $20 copay / Spec. $40 copay  20% after ded  

Chiropractic Care 
PCP $15 copay / Spec. $30 copay, 

30 visit limit 
$25 copay, 30 visit limit 20% after ded, 30 visit limit 

Physical & Occupational 

Therapy  

Office Visit: PCP $15 copay / Spec. 
$30 copay 

Facility: $30 copay then 20% 
(30 visits per year PT & OT 

combined)  

Office Visit: $25 copay 
Facility: $25 copay 

(30 visits per year PT & OT 
combined)   

20% after ded  

(30 visits per year PT & OT combined)   

Speech Therapy  

Office Visit: PCP $15 copay / Spec. 
$30 copay 

Facility: $30 copay then 20%  
(30 visits per year)  

Office Visit: $25 copay 

Facility: $25 copay 
(30 visits per year)   

20% after ded  

(30 visits per year) 

Preventive Care  

Well Baby Care Covered @ 100% Covered @ 100% Covered @ 100% 

Well Adult Care Covered @ 100% Covered @ 100% Covered @ 100% 

Mammography Covered @ 100% Covered @ 100% Covered @ 100% 

PSA Tests, Screenings Covered @ 100% Covered @ 100% Covered @ 100% 
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  In-Network Benefits  

KeyCare 15 PPO HealthKeepers 20  

POS / HMO Open Access Lumenos High Deductible—CDHP 

Mental Health Services 

Inpatient  $300 copay then 20%  
$200 copay/day not to exceed 

$1,000/admission 
20% after ded  

Outpatient  
Office Visit: $15 copay 

Other Outpatient: $15 copay  
Office Visit: $20 copay 

Other Outpatient: $20 copay  
20% after ded  

Other Services   

Diagnostic X-ray 20% $40 copay 20% after ded  

Advanced Diagnostic Imaging 
(MRI, MRA, CT, PET Scans)   

20% $100 copay then 20%  20% after ded  

Home Health Care 
Covered @ 100%  

90 visits / year 

Covered @ 100%  

100 visits / year 

20% after ded  

100 visits / year 

Hospice Care Covered @ 100%  Covered @ 100%  20% after ded  

Durable Medical Equipment 20% Covered @ 100%  20% after ded  

Skilled Nursing Facility  
20% 

100 visits / year 

Covered @ 100%  

100 visits / year 

20% after ded  

100 visits / year 

Vision $15 copay In-Network with Blue Vision Providers; $30 OON Allowance  

Prescription Drugs  

Calendar Deductible  
$150 Individual / $300 Family  

With 4th quarter carryover  
Subject to Combined Medical / Rx Ded 

Calendar Out-of-Pocket 
Maximum 

$3,500 Individual / $7,000 Family  
Subject to Combined Medical / Rx 

OOPM 

Retail   

Tier 1 $10 copay 20% after ded  

Tier 2  $20 copay 20% after ded  

Tier 3  Greater of $35 copay or 20% up to $50 / script 20% after ded  

Mail Order   

Tier 1  $20 copay 20% after ded  

Tier 2 $40 copay 20% after ded  

Tier 3 Greater of $70 copay or 20% up to $100 / script 20% after ded  

Medical and Prescription Drug Benefits  

Potential Financial Responsibility When Using Out-of-Network Providers 
The amount the plan pays for covered services provided by non -netw ork providers is based on a max imum allow able amount for the 

specif ic service rendered. Although your plan stipulates an out -of-pocket maximum for out-of-netw ork services, please note the 

maximum allow ed amount for an eligible procedure may not be equal to the amount charged by your out -of-netw ork provider. Your 

out-of-netw ork provider may bill you for the difference betw een the amount charged and the maximum allow ed amount. This is called 

balance billing and the amount billed to you can be substantial. The out -of-pocket maximum outlined in your policy w ill not include 

amounts in excess of the allow able charge and other non -covered expenses as defined by your plan. The max imum reimbursable 

amount for non-netw ork providers can be based on a number of schedules such as a percentage of reasonable and customary or a 

percentage of Medicare. The plan document or carrier’s master policy is the controlling document, and this Benefit Highlight does not 

include all of the terms, coverage, exclusions, limitations, and condit ions of the actual plan language. Contact your claims payer or 

insurer for more information.  
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LiveHealth Online with Anthem (Telemedicine)  

See a doctor 24/7 in minutes 

When you need to see a doctor, use LiveHealth Online to have a video visit with a     
board-certified doctor, 24/7 on your smartphone, tablet or computer with a webcam. It ’s 

easy to use and more convenient than a trip to urgent care. 

With LiveHealth Online, you get:  

 Immediate doctor visits through live video.  

 Your choice of board-certified doctors.  

 Members enrolled in the POS / HMO and PPO plans have a $0 copay.  

 For members enrolled in the Lumenos plan, you will be charged $49 for each visit until 
your deductible is met. Then once the deductible is met, you will be responsible for 

20% coinsurance for each visit. 

 Private, secure and convenient online visits.  

 

When can you use LiveHealth Online?  

As always, you should call 911 with any emergency. Otherwise, you can use LiveHealth 
Online whenever you have a health concern and don’t want to wait. Doctors are available 
24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year. Some of the most common uses 

include:  

 Cold and flu symptoms such as a cough, fever and headaches  

 Allergies  

 Sinus infections  

 Family health questions  

 

Start a conversation now.  

Just enroll for free at livehealthonline.com or download the free mobile app at Google Play TM or the App StoreSM.  

LiveHealth Online Psychology 
You can see a therapist or psychologist from home, usually in 

four days or less. 

If you’re feeling stressed, worried or having a tough time, you 
can talk to a licensed psychologist or therapist using LiveHealth 

Online Psychology. 

Make your first appointment — when it’s easy for you. 

 Use our free app or go to livehealthonline.com and log in. 
Select LiveHealth Online Psychology and choose a 

therapist. 

 Or, call 1-844-784-8409 from 7 a.m.to 11 p.m. 

Depending on your coverage, the cost of an online therapy visit 
may be similar to what you would pay for an office visit, 

considering benefits, copay or coinsurance. 
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Dental Benefits 
Administered by Delta Dental of Virginia  

Good oral care enhances overall physical health, appearance and mental w ell-being. Problems w ith the teeth and gums are common 

and eas ily treated health problems. Keep your teeth healthy and your smile bright w ith the Delta Dental of Virginia dental benefit 

plans.  

About Delta Dental’s Networks 

 Delta Dental PPO Providers: agree to accept contractual reim bursement as  payment in full and w ill not balance bill. 

 Delta Dental Premier Providers: agree to accept contractual reim bursement as  payment in full and w ill not balance bill. 

 Out-of-Network Providers: are not contracted w ith Delta Dental and therefore m ay balance bill the difference between 

Delta Dental’s Non-Participating payment and billed charges. 

For a list of participating dentists go to www.deltadentalva.com.  

Services Standard Option  High Option   

Network  
Delta Dental 
PPO 

Delta Dental 
Premier 

Out-of-
Network  

Delta Dental 
PPO 

Delta Dental 
Premier 

Out-of-
Network  

Deductible  
(Individual / Family)  $0 / $0 $50 / $150  

Maximum Benefit  
(Per Covered Member) $1,000  $1,500  

Diagnostic & Preventive 
Services  
(cleanings, exams, x-rays) 

100% of PPO 

Allow ance,  

deductible 

waived  

100% of Premier 

Allow ance,  

deductible 

waived  

100% of Non-

Par Allow ance,  

deductible 

waived  

100% of PPO 

Allow ance,  

deductible w aived  

100% of 

Premier 

Allow ance,  

deductible 

waived  

100% of Non-

Par Allow ance, 

deductible 

waived  

Basic Dental Serv ices  
(fi llings, root canal therapy, 
oral surgery, periodontics) 

80% of PPO 

Allow ance, after 

deductible  

80% of Premier 

Allow ance, after 

deductible  

80% of Non-Par 

Allow ance, after 

deductible  

80% of PPO 

Allow ance, after 

deductible  

80% of Premier 

Allow ance, after 

deductible  

80% of Non-Par  

Allow ance, after 

deductible  

Major Dental Serv ices  
(crowns, prosthetic 

coverage, implants) 

50% of PPO 

Allow ance, after 

deductible  

50% of Premier 

Allow ance, after 

deductible  

50% of Non-Par  

Allow ance, after 

deductible  

Not Covered   

Orthodontia Services  
(dependent children & 

adults) 

50% of PPO 

Allow ance, after 

deductible  

50% of Premier 

Allow ance, after 

deductible  

50% of Non-Par  

Allow ance, after 

deductible  

Orthodontia Lifetime 

Maximum  
(per covered member) 

$2,000 lifetime maximum   
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Annual Leave, Holidays and Sick Leave  
Fauquier County Public Schools currently provides a tradit ional t ime off program comprised of annual leave, 12 paid holidays,  3 

personal days and 12 sick leave days annually.  

Annual Leave  

Full-time, 12-month employees are eligible for annual leave based on years of service. Part -time employees accrue annual leave 

based on years of service. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Only the maximum of annual leave w ill be allow ed to carryover. Any amount of annual leave over the maximum w ill be transferred to 

your sick leave account. Refer to the annual leave policy for more information.  

Sick, Personal and PTO Leave  

Fauquier County Public Schools offers sick and personal leave or PTO leave. Please refer to policy 5 -7.6 for more details. This policy 

can be found at: https://www.boarddocs.com/va/fcps/Board.nsf/Public  

Sick Leave Bank  

Fauquier County Public Schools offers a sick leave bank program. Please refer to policy 5-7.6 for more details. This policy can be 

found at: https://www.boarddocs.com/va/fcps/Board.nsf/Public  

Holidays 

Fauquier County Public Schools designates paid holidays each year for all full -time employees. 

Years of 
Service  

Full-Time Part-Time 

 Per Month 
Maximum 
Days 

 Per Month 
Maximum 
Days 

< 5 Years 1 day 12 0.5 day 6 

6-10 Years 1.25 days 15 0.625 day 7.5 

11-15 Years 1.5 days 18 0.75 day 9 

16-20 Years 1.75 days 21 0.875 day 10.5 

21 + Years 2 days 24 1 day 12 
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Health Savings Account (HSA) 
Administered by ActWise 

When you enroll in the High Deductible – Lumenos CDHP plan an HSA account w ill automatically be established for you. Shortly  

after enrollment you w ill receive an HSA Welcome Kit w ith banking documentation and instructions for you to activate your HSA . With 

a minimum balance of $1,000 in your HSA you can direct the investments in your account.  

What is an HSA and how does it work? 

What is an HSA? An HSA (Health Savings Account) is a tax -free account you can use to pay for current and future medical       

expenses (even medical expenses during retirement).  An HSA has triple tax benefits:                                                                  

1. The money goes in tax -free.  

2. The money grows tax-free.  

3. Your w ithdraw als for qualif ied medical expenses—including any earnings—are tax free.                                                                                                                

Who's eligible to 

enroll in an HSA?  
 You must be enrolled in a qualifying HDHP (the Lumenos plan) to be eligible to contr ibute to an HSA. 

 You cannot be enrolled in Medicare (generally those over 65) and contribute funds to the account; 

how ever, HSA funds can be used w hen enrolled in Medicare for qualifying expenses not covered by 

Medicare. 

 You cannot be eligible to be claimed as a dependent on another’s tax return (does not apply to joint 

f iling).  

 You cannot be enrolled in a medical Flexible Spending Account (you or spouse) and put funds in an 

HSA; how ever, you can be enrolled in the HDHP w ithout the HSA. 

 If  you or your spouse is currently enrolled in an FSA today, you must exhaust all money in your FSA 

account by the end of the plan year (June 30) to be eligible to open an HSA on July 1.  

 If  your spouse is enrolled in an FSA plan, you cannot cover your spouse under the County ’s plan and 

open an HSA account until the end of their plan year. For example, if  their plan does not end until 12/31, 

you are not able to open the HSA until after 12/31.  

Company 

Contributions  

Fauquier makes an annual contribution to your account based on your level of coverage as follow s:  

 Employee Only: $500   

 Employee & Child: $750             

 Employee & Spouse: $750 

 Dual Spouse: $750 

 Dual Family: $1,000  

 Family: $1,000 

You can contribute 

to your account 

Federal tax regulations restrict the amount contributed to a health savings account.  In calendar year 2020 

your contributions combined w ith the Schools Contribution, are limited to:                                                                                                 

 Employee Only: $3,550   

 Employee & Dependents: $7,100              

 Catch-up provision for those 55 & up: $1,000 

Employees should monitor their personal contributions to the HSA so they don't exceed the allowable 

amount for calendar year 2020.                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

Paying Claims and 
Reimbursements 

from Account 

Show  your Anthem ID card w hen you receive care. The provider w ill submit a claim to Anthem for the 

application of discounts and credit to your deductible. Most prov iders w ill not require a payment from you at 

time of service. They w ill bill you for the balance due after the insurance discount has been applied.  

You pay the bill one of the follow ing w ays: 

 HSA debit card 

 Direct from HSA (check) 

 From regular funds, then reimburse yourself from HSA  

 From regular funds, don’t reimburse yourself, but save the HSA funds for a rainy day  

If you w ithdraw  funds in an account after age 65 and use the fund for anything other than eligible medical 

expenses, you w ill be subject to a tax but a penalty does not apply.  

Roll over your 

balance 

Money you don't spend from your HSA account rolls over from year to year. If  you change jobs, sw itch to 

another medical plan or even retire, your HSA and the money in it is still yours to keep. You can choose to 

save it to pay for eligible health care expenses tax -free in retirement.  

Monthly Fees HSA Accounts are subject to monthly administration fees.  
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Flexible Spending Accounts 
Administered by American Fidelity 

Flexible Spending Accounts (FSAs) allow  employees to allocate pre-tax dollars to a healthcare and/or dependent care spending 

account to pay for eligible after-tax expenses. These accounts allow  you to use a portion of your pay, before it is taxed, to provide 

coverage that can reimburse you for certain qualif ied expenses. You can participate in one, both or neither of the accounts —it is your 

choice. The FSA Plan year runs from July 1st through June 30th.  

There are two types of Flexible Spending  Accounts available to you: 

1. Health Care Reimbursement Account  

2. Dependent Care Reimbursement Account  

Important Notes  

Federal tax law  requires separate accounts for the tw o types of expenses, and you must elect a separate amount to be depos ite d in 

each account in w hich you elect to participate.  

Since you are receiving tax advantages, federal tax law imposes certain requirements on spending accounts. 

 Once you elect to participate in the spending account plan, you cannot change your election during the plan year unless you 

have a qualifying event. Qualifying events are discussed on page 6 of this booklet. If  one of these events occurs, and you w ant 

to change your election, the change must be consistent w ith the type of event that has occurred.  

 In order to receive reimbursement from your account, you must incur expenses (i.e., service performed and received) during the 

plan year. You m us t subm it a reim bursement form  or  use your  debit card. Keep receipts  for  your  tax records . 

 Rollover: If  you do not incur  enough expenses  dur ing the plan year  to use all of the coverage provided by your  m edical 

spending account, the plan allow s $500 to be rolled over to be used in the next plan year.  

 “Use it or Lose it:” Any amount over the $500, w ill be lost. 

 You cannot claim a tax deduction or credit on your personal tax return for expenses reimbursed from your spending account.  

 The expenses cannot be eligible for reimbursement from any other source. 

 When taxable income is low ered, Social Security taxes are also low ered. This may result in a slight reduction in Social Secur ity 

retirement benefits. 

 

Maximum Contributions and Eligible Expenses  

Please Note: FSA contributions are taken from your paycheck (24 payroll cycles) on a pre -tax basis according to your annual 

elections. 

 Healthcare FSA  Dependent Care FSA 

Maximum Contribution 
You may contribute up to $2,750 for the plan year 

or $112.50 per pay period.  

You may contribute up to $5,000 for the plan year or 
$208.33 per pay period for single individuals or 

married individuals f iling jointly, and $2,500 for the 

plan year or $104.17 per pay per iod for married 

individuals f iling separately.  

Eligible Expenses  

Eligible expenses inc lude:  

 Deductibles and copays;  

 Cost of eligible services above the reasonable 

and customary limits or above other plan 

limits; 

 Other health-related expenses not paid by 
other plans that are eligible for tax deduction 

by the I.R.C. Section 213.  

 

Refer to IRS Publication 502, for a full list of 

eligible expenses. This publication can be found 

at www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p502.pdf or by calling  

1-800-TAX-FORM. 

Eligible expenses inc lude:  

 Care in your home or someone else’s home; 

 Child care or dependent care facilities, 
including day care centers and nurseries; or  

 Housekeeping services in your home that 

include day care.  

 

You can claim dependent care expenses for 

“qualifying individuals” w ho include:  

 Your children under age 13 

 other relatives, such as a parent, w hom can be 

claimed as dependents on your tax return  

 A spouse or other dependent w ho is physically 

or mentally incapable of caring for him or herself.  

 

These children and relatives must be dependents as 

defined by the Internal Revenue Code.  

 

Expense 

Reimbursement Notes 

Expenses reimbursed from your Health Care 

Spending Account cannot be claimed as medical 

deductions on your income tax.  

Expenses reimbursed from your Dependent Care 

Spending Account cannot be claimed under the 

Federal Tax Credit.  
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Voluntary Programs  

Administered by AFLAC and American Fidelity  

Not everyone’s personal s ituation is the same; your family needs may be different from the needs of your cow orkers. In recognit ion of 

these differences, w e offer voluntary benefits, w hich you can purchase at group rates.  

 
Accident Coverage Cancer / Specified Disease 

You may purchase accident coverage for you and your 

family through AFLA C and A merican Fidelity. It 

provides benefits for any on- or off-the-job accidental 

injuries w ith benefits payable for hospitalization, 

emergency treatment, intensive care, fractures, and 

more. This accident coverage is portable, w hich means  

that you may keep the policy if  you stop w orking for 
Fauquier County Public Schools and you continue to 

pay the premiums . 

You may purchase voluntary cancer/specif ied disease 

coverage for yourself and family through AFLA C and 

American Fidelity. This coverage supplements for 

expenses w hich may not be covered by your medical 

insurance. Benefits are paid directly to you. This 

coverage may be portable, w hich means that you may 

keep the policy if  you stop w orking for Fauquier County 

Public Schools and you continue to pay the premiums.  

Hospital Confinement  Short Term Disability  

You may purchase voluntary hospital confinement and 

sickness indemnity insurance coverage for yourself and 

family through AFLA C and A merican Fidelity. This 

coverage supplements any physician or hospital 

charges you may incur. Benefits are paid directly to 

you. This coverage may be portable, w hich means that 
you may keep the policy if  you stop w orking for 

Fauquier County Public Schools and you continue to 

pay the premiums . 

You may purchase voluntary short term disability at 

different levels of coverage for yourself through AFLA C 

and A merican Fidelity. This coverage supplements your 

income w hile you are disabled due to a covered 

sickness or off the job injury. Benefits are paid directly to  

you. 

 
This coverage may be portable, w hich means  that you 

may keep the policy if  you stop w orking for Fauquier 

County Public Schools and you continue to pay the 

premiums . 

Individual Specified Health Event Insurance  

You may purchase voluntary serious health event 
insurance for yourself through AFLAC and A mer ican 

Fidelity. A serious health event may be a heart attack, 

end-stage renal failure or third-degree burns. This 

coverage supplements your income w hile you recover 

from your health event. Benefits are paid directly to 

you. This coverage may be portable, w hich means  

that you may keep the policy if you stop w orking for 

Fauquier County Public Schools and you continue to 

pay the premiums . 
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When you need help meeting life’s challenges, the Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield Employee Assistance Program 

(EAP) is here for you and your household members. Check out some of the services we offer — at no cost to you:  

Counseling 

 Up to 3 visits per issue 

 Face-to-face counseling or online visits 

via LiveHealth Online 

 Can call EAP or use the online Member 

Center to initiate services 

Legal consultation 

 30-minute phone or in-person meeting  

 Discounted fees to retain a lawyer 

 Online resources, including free legal 

forms, seminars and a library of articles 

Financial consultation 

 Phone meeting with financial 

professionals  

 Consultation available during regular 
business hours — no time limits or 

appointments needed  

 Online resources, including articles, 

ID recovery 

 Identity theft risk level checked by 

specialists 

 Help with reporting to consumer credit 

agencies  

 Assistance filling out paperwork and 

negotiating with creditors 

Dependent care and daily living resources 

 Information available on child care, 
adoption, summer camps, college 
placement, elder care and assisted living 

through the EAP website 

 For help with everyday needs, like pet 

sitting, relocation resources and more 

Other anthemEAP.com resources 

 Well-being articles, podcasts and monthly 

webinars 

 Self-assessment tools for depression, 
anxiety, relationships, alcohol use, eating 

habits and more 

Crisis consultation 

 Toll free number for emergencies 

 Round-the-clock help available 

On-demand digital resources 

 @AnthemEAP Twitter tips for staying 

healthy and balancing work-life needs 

 The WellPost blog at anthemEAP.com, 
featuring Health & Wellness topics 

written by experts in the field 

* In accor dance with feder al and stat e law, and prof essional eth ica l standar ds. This doc ument is for gener al inform ational purposes. Chec k with y our employ er for specific inform ation about benefits, lim itations and exclusions.  

 
Language Access Serv ices – (TTY/TDD: 711)  

Spanis h – Tiene e l derec ho de obt ener esta inform ación y ayuda en su idioma en form a gratu ita. Llam e al núm ero de Serv icios para Miem bros que figur a en su tarjeta de identifi cac ión par a obt ener ay uda. 

Chines e – 您有權使用您的語言免費獲得該資訊和協助。請撥打您的  ID 卡上的成員服務號碼尋求協助。  

 
Anthem Blue Cr oss and Blue S hie ld c omplies wit h appl icable feder al c ivil r ights laws and does not disc rim inat e on the basis of race, color, nat ional origin, age, d isabil ity or sex. 
 
Anthem Blue Cr oss and Blue S hie ld is the trade name of: In Colorado: Rocky Mount ain Hos pita l and Medic al S ervic e, Inc. HMO products under written by HMO Colorado, Inc. Copies of Colorado networ k acc ess plans are avai lable on request 
from mem ber servic es or can be obt ained by going to ant hem.c om/co/networkacc ess. In Connectic ut: Anthem Health P lans, Inc. In Georg ia: Blue Cross B lue Shield Healthcar e Plan of Geor gia, Inc. In Indiana: Anthem Insur anc e Companies, 
Inc. In Kentucky: A nthem Health P lans of Kent ucky, Inc. In Maine: Ant hem Health Plans of Maine, Inc. In Miss our i (exc luding 3 0 counties in the Kansas City area): Right CHOICE ® Managed Care, Inc. (RIT), Healthy A llianc e® Life Insurance 
Com pany (HA LIC), and HMO M issouri, Inc. RIT and certa in affiliates administer non -HMO benefits underwr itten by HALI C and HMO ben efits under written by HMO Miss ouri, Inc. RIT and cert ain affiliates only prov ide adm in istrativ e s ervic es for 

self -funded p lans and do not underwr ite benef its. In Nevada: Rocky M ountain Hospit al and M edical S ervice, Inc. HMO pr oducts under written by HMO Color ado, Inc., dba HMO Nev ada. In New Ham pshire: A nthem Health Plans of New 
Ham pshire, Inc. HMO plans ar e adm in ister ed by A nthem Health P lans of New Hampshi re, Inc. and under written by M atthew Thor nton Health Plan, Inc. In Ohio: Com munity Insur ance Company. In Vi rginia: Anthem Healt h Plans of Vi rgin ia, 
Inc. trades as Anthem Blue Cr oss and B lue Shield in V irginia, and its serv ice area is al l of Vir gin ia except for the City of Fairfax, the Town of Vienna, and the ar ea east of State Route 123. In Wisc ons in: Blue Cross B lue Shield of Wis cons in 
(BCBSWI), under writes or administer s PPO and indem nity pol icies and underwr ites the out of net work benefits in POS polic ies offer ed by Compc are Health Ser vic es Insur anc e Corporation ( Com pcar e) or Wis consin Collaborativ e Ins urance 
Cor por ation (WCIC). Compc ar e under writes or administer s HMO or POS pol icies; WCIC underwr ites or administ ers Wel l Priority HMO or POS policies. Independent licensees of the B lue Cross and Blue S hie ld Ass ociation. Anthem is a 

registered trademark of Anthem Insurance Companies, Inc.  
 
108413A NMENABS VPOD Rev 12/18  



2020-2021 Public Schools Benefits Guide  

17 

Retirement Plans  

Virginia Retirement System 

Fauquier County Public Schools pays part of the cost of retirement benefits through the Virginia Retirement System (VRS). Fauquier 

Public Schools w ill pay an employer portion, and employees must contribute 5%.  

 

There are a couple of differences in the plans. The plan in w hich you participate depends on your date of membership:  

 Plan 1 - You are covered under  the provis ions  of the VRS Plan 1 if your  mem bership date is  between July 1, 2010 and 

December 31, 2013. Average final compensation under Plan 1 is the average of your 36 consecutive months of highest 

compensation as a covered employee.  

 Plan 2 – You are covered under the provisions of the V RS Plan 2 if your membership date is betw een July 1, 2010 and 

December 31, 2013. Average final compensation under Plan 2 is the average of your 60 consecutive months of highest 

compensation.  

 Hybrid Retirement Plan – All employees hired on or after January 1, 2014 or those that elected to join this plan are Hybrid 

members. Average final compensation is the same as Plan 2 (average of 60 consecutive months). Employees must contr ibute 
5% (4% to V RS & 1% to ICMA for defined 401a plan) w ith the option to contribute up to an additional 4% w ith an employer 

match. 

 

Under Plan 1 & 2, you become vested w ith f ive years of credited service; the years need not be continuous. Hybrid plan is ves ted 

after 5 years in the defined benefit portion, and after 4 years in the defined contr ibution portion.  

As a VRS member, you enjoy retirement benefits important to you and your family ’s f inancial w ell-being. These benefits include 

retirement, disability, and survivor benefits. Current, active members of VRS may be eligible to purchase prior service credit. 

You may also elect optional life insurance under the Virginia Retirement System (V RS) through Minnesota Life. Please refer to  the 

Optional Life Insurance section on pages 19 and 20 for more information about the life insurance.  

For more information about VRS benefits, visit www.varetire.org w here you w ill f ind handbooks and other information about the plan.  

Deferred Compensation 

Fauquier County Public Schools offers 457b and 403b retirement savings programs through VOYA. This program allow s for 

employees to save for retirement through pre -tax salary deferrals. Amounts deferred are not subject to federal and state income 

taxes until they are w ithdraw n from your account, w hich is usually at retirement. The plan offers after-tax deductions as w ell. 

You may choose the amount of your pay that is deferred, and you may change that amount at any time. Payroll deductions are 

spread over the 24 payroll cycles. There are legal limits on the amount that you can contribute in a year. For the 2020 calen dar year, 

that annual limit is $19,500 for those under the age of 50, and $26,000 for those over the age of 50.  

You may choose from various types of investments (stocks, mutual funds, and f ixed income interest -bearing accounts). Whether  you 

are conservative or aggressive, there are funding choices for your preferred investing style. The products are managed by a f inancial 

f irm chosen by VOYA. Contact information can be found on page 3.  
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Retirement Plans  

Recent legislation (SB 498) created the Virginia Local Disability Program (VLDP) --a disability benefit for political subdivision  and 

school employees w ho w ill be covered under the new  VRS Hybrid Retirement Plan. The Virginia Retirement System (VRS) governs 

the VLDP program. 

All employees hired after January 1, 2014, w ho are VRS Hybr id plan members w ill be eligible for the Hybrid Plan disability pr ogram 

administered through Anthem. There is a one year w aiting period for this program. VLDP provides income protection for a non -work 

related or w ork-related illness, injury or other condit ion, such as surgery, pregnancy, complications from pregnancy or a catastrophic 

or major chronic condition.  

The VLDP includes Short -Term Disability, Long-Term Disability, and Long-Term Care. 

VLDP Short Term Disability  

The VLDP Short Term Disability benefit begins after a seven -calendar day w aiting period from the f irst day of your disability and 

continues for up to 125 w orkdays. 

 You are eligible for w ork-related short-term disability coverage upon employment. VLDP coverage includes 6 w eeks of post-

partum income replacement follow ing a normal delivery or 8 w eeks for C-section. 

 You are eligible for income replacement at 60 percent of your pre -disability income if you go on non-w ork related short-term 

disability. After f ive years of continuous partic ipation in VLDP w ith your current employer, you w ill become eligible for higher 

income replacement levels. 

 There is a one-year w aiting per iod. The w aiting period applies regardless of service. 

 

VLDP Long Term Disability  

The VLDP Long Term Disability benefit for Hybrid Plan members begins after 125 w orkdays of short term disability.  

 You are eligible for a long-term disability benefit if  you are unable to w ork at all or you are w orking less than 20 hours a w eek. 

 You w ill receive up to 60 percent of your pre-disability income. 

 

Voluntary Long Term Care Through VRS (for active or retired employees)  

You may be eligible to apply for long-term care coverage for yourself and certain family members in the Commonw ealth of Virginia 

Voluntary Group Long Term Care Insurance Program. V RS contracts w ith Genw orth Life Insurance Company as the insurer to offer 

this benefit.  

The program provides assistance w ith long-term care expenses, such as:  

 care in a nursing home or assisted living facility  

 home healthcare services 

 caregiver training, and 

 community-based care. 

If  you apply w ithin 60 days of employment, medical underw riting (proof of good health) w ill not be required for you. If you apply after 

60 days of employment, you w ill be asked to provide proof of good health. Medical underw riting w ill be required of family members 

who apply.  
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Life and Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance  
Administered by VRS 

Basic Life Insurance  

Permanent full-time employees are eligible for basic life insurance through V RS. In the event of your death, you are automatical ly 

covered for term life insurance based on a tw o times your annual earnings. Your life insurance coverage is determined by rounding 

your annual salary to the next $1,000 and doubling. For example, if  your annual earnings are $31,200, your life insurance benefit 

would be $64,000 ($32,000 x 2).  

If  you die w hile covered by this plan, the benefit is paid to the beneficiary (or beneficiaries) you designate, in w riting. This Basic term 

life insurance coverage is through V RS and paid in full by Fauquier County Public Schools.  

When you experience a life event, be sure to update your beneficiary(ies).  

Basic Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance  

If  you die in an accident, this benefit pays your beneficiary(ies) an amount equal to your Basic Term Life Insurance coverage. This 

benefit w ould be paid in addition to Basic Life Insurance benefits.  

The AD&D plan also provides a paid benefit if  you lose a limb or your eyesight in an accident. The cost of this coverage is p aid in full 

by Fauquier County Public Schools.  

Optional Life and Accidental Death & Dismemberment Insurance  
Administered by Securian 

If  you feel that addit ional term life insurance is necessary in order to meet the needs of your family, Fauquier County Public Schools 

Benefits Program makes additional coverage available to you. Employees may purchase supplemental term life coverage for one, 

tw o, three, or four times your salary, not to exceed $800,000. If you purchase more than $375,000 in optional coverage, or if  you 

init ially dec lined coverage and now  w ish to purchase additional life insurance, you w ill be required to provide Ev idence of Insurability.  

In the event of your death, this supplemental benefit is paid in addition to the Basic coverage. The cost of this coverage is paid by 

employees through payroll deductions.  

If  you are currently enrolled in the Securian optional life program, you do not need to do anything if you w ish to continue t his coverage 

“as is”. If  you did not enroll for this coverage during your init ial new  hire eligibility per iod, you can apply for this coverage at any t ime, 

but w ill be required to complete and submit an Evidence of Insurability w ith your enrollment application. As a late entrant, Securian 

reserves the right to deny the coverage or limit the amount of optional term life coverage. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Optional Term Life Insurance for Dependents  
Administered by Securian 

Fauquier County Public Schools Benefits Program also offers dependent life insurance options. The cost of this coverage is pa id by 

employees through payroll deductions. You are eligible to purchase optional life insurance for your spouse and dependent children if 

you have optional coverage for yourself. Spouses are eligible for up to 50% of your optional life coverage. You may also purc hase 

optional group coverage for your minor children.  

Ev idence of Insurability is required if you do not elect the coverage w ithin 31 days of your f irst day of coverage under the bas ic life 

insurance plan or qualifying event. Proof of your spouse’s good health is also required for amounts in excess of one-half of your 

salary. 

Optional Term Life Insurance for Dependents  

Eligibility Regular full-time employees 

Benefit Amount  

For You 1x, 2x, 3x, or 4x your compensation, up to a maximum of $800,000 

For Your Spouse 
Up to half the maximum amount of the coverage you select for 

yourself, not to exceed $400,000 

For Your Child(ren) 
Age 15 days to 21 yrs. old (25 for students): You may elect an 

amount equal to $10,000, $20,000, or $30,000, depending on the 
coverage option you select for yourself 

Guaranteed Issue Amount 
Employee: $375,000 
Spouse: up to one-half the employee’s salary 

Accelerated Death Benefit 

Coverage During Disability Yes 

Conv ersion Privilege Included  

Accelerated Death Benefit Some or all of death benefit 
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VRS Optional Life Insurance Contributions  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To calculate the cost for your supplemental life coverage, follow these steps:  

Optional Life—employee, retiree and spouse 

 Monthly Rate per $1,000 

34 and Under $0.05 

Age 35-39 $0.06 

Age 40-44 $0.08 

Age 45-49 $0.14 

Age 50-54 $0.20 

Age 55-59 $0.33 

Age 60-64 $0.59 

Age 65-69 $1.06 

70 and Over $2.06 

Child Term Life—One premium provides coverage 
for all eligible children 

 Coverage Amount Rate  

1 $10,000 $0.80 

2 $10,000 $0.80 

3 $20,000 $1.60 

4 $30,000 $2.40 

Example   

1. 

Determine how much 
coverage you would like. You 
may elect 1x to 4x your 
compensation with a 
maximum of $500,000 

coverage. 

Coverage Amount = _____________ $40,000 

2. 

Divide the result from #1 by 
1,000 since the rates are 
based on each $1,000 of 

coverage. 

÷ 1,000 

= _____________ 

÷ 1,000 

= $40.00 

3. 
Multiply the result from #2 by 
the rate for your age from the 

rate chart. 

Rate from chart        x _____________ 
                                  = _____________ 
This is the monthly premium. 

x $0.21 

= $8.40 

4. 
Multiply the result from #3 by 
12 months then divide by 26 

pay periods.  

x 12 
÷ 24 

= _____________ 

This is the amount you will pay each payday. 

x 12 

÷ 24 

= $4.20 

Please note, rates increase w ith age.  
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Important Notice from Fauquier County about Your Prescription Drug Coverage and 

Medicare 

Please read this notice carefully and keep it where you can find it. This  notice has  inform ation about your  cur rent 

prescription drug coverage w ith Fauquier County and about your options under Medicare’s prescription drug coverage. This 

information can help you decide w hether or not you w ant to join a Medicare drug plan. If you are cons idering joining, you should 

compare your current coverage, including w hich drugs are covered at w hat cost, w ith the coverage and costs of the plans offer ing 

Medicare prescription drug coverage in your area. Information about w here you can get help to make decisions about your 

prescription drug coverage is at the end of this notice.  

 

There are two important things you need to know about your current coverage and Medicare ’s prescription drug coverage:  

1.Medicare prescription drug coverage became available in 2006 to everyone w ith Medicare. You can get this coverage if  you join a  

Medicare Prescription Drug Plan or join a Medicare Advantage Plan (like an HMO or PPO) that offers prescription drug coverage . 

All  Medicare drug plans provide at least a standard level of coverage set by Medicare. Some plans may also offer more coverage 

for a higher monthly premium. 

2.Fauquier County has determined that the prescription drug coverage offered by the Fauquier County Benefit Plan is, on average for 

all plan participants, expected to pay out as much as standard Medicare prescription drug coverage pays and is therefore 

considered Creditable Coverage.  Because your existing coverage is Creditable Coverage, you can keep this coverage and not 

pay a higher premium (a penalty) if  you later decide to join a Medicare drug plan.  

 

When Can You Join A Medicare Drug Plan? 

You can join a Medicare drug plan w hen you f irst become eligible for Medicare and each year from October 15 th through December 

7th.    

How ever, if  you lose your current creditable prescription drug coverage, through no fault of your ow n, you w ill also be eligible for a 

tw o (2) month Special Enrollment Period (SEP)  to join a Medicare drug plan.  

 

What Happens To Your Current Coverage If You Decide To Join A Medicare Drug Plan? 

If  you decide to join a Medicare drug plan, your current Fauquier County coverage w ill not be affected. If you do decide to join a 

Medicare drug plan and drop your current Fauquier County coverage, be aw are that you and your dependents w ill not be able to get 

this coverage back until the next open enrollment period unless you exper ience a qualif ied life event.  

Note that your current coverage pays for other health expenses, in addition to prescription drugs, and you w ill still be elig ible to 

receive all of your current health and prescription drug benefits if  you choose to enroll in a Medicare prescription drug plan and keep 

your coverage under the Fauquier County Benefit Plan.  

 

When Will You Pay A Higher Premium (Penalty) To Join A Medicare Drug Plan?  

You should also know  that if  you drop or lose your current coverage w ith Fauquier County and do not join a Medicare drug plan  w ithin 

63 continuous days after your current coverage ends, you may pay a higher premium (a penalty) to join a Medicare drug plan la ter.  

If  you go 63 continuous days or longer w ithout creditable prescription drug coverage, your monthly premium may go up by at le ast 1% 

of the Medicare base beneficiary premium per month for every month that you did not have that coverage. For example, if  you g o 19 

months w ithout creditable coverage, your premium may consistently be at least 19% higher than the Medicare base beneficiary 

premium. 

You may have to pay this higher premium (a penalty) as long as you have Medicare prescription drug coverage. In addition, you  may 

have to w ait until the follow ing October to join.  

 

Summary of Options for Medicare Eligible Employees: 

Medical and prescription drug coverage are offered as a package under the Fauquier County Benefit Plan (you cannot elect medical 

coverage w ithout prescription drug coverage).  

1.Continue medical and prescript ion drug coverage under the Fauquier County Benefit Plan and do not elect Medicare D Coverage. 

Impact - Your claims continue to be paid by the Fauquier County Benefit Plan.  

2.Continue medical and prescription drug coverage under the Fauquier County Benefit Plan and elect Medicare D coverage.      

Impact -  As an active employee the Fauquier County Benefit Plan continues to pay primary on your claims (pays before 

Medicare D). 

3.Drop the Fauquier County Benefit Plan coverage and elect Medicare Part D coverage. Impact - Medicare is your primary coverage. 

You w ill not be able to rejoin the Fauquier County Benefit Plan unless you experience a family circumstance change or until the 

next open enrollment period.  

 

For More Information About This Notice Or Your Current Prescription Drug Coverage: 

Contact Human Resources for further information. NOTE: You w ill get this notice each year. You w ill also get it before the next period 

you can join a Medicare drug plan, and if this coverage through the Fauquier County Benefit Plan changes. You also may reques t a 

copy of this notice at any t ime.  
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For More Information About Your Options Under Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage … 

More detailed information about Medicare plans that offer prescription drug coverage is in the “Medicare & You” handbook. You w ill 

get a copy of the handbook in the mail every year from Medicare. You may also be contacted directly by Medicare drug plans.  

For more information about Medicare prescription drug coverage:  

 Visit www.medicare.gov  

 Call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program (see the ins ide back cover of your copy of the “Medicare & You” 

handbook for their telephone number) for personalized help  

 Call 1-800-MEDICA RE (1-800-633-4227). TTY users should call 1-877-486-2048. 

If  you have limited income and resources, extra help paying for Medicare prescription drug coverage is available. For information 

about this extra help, visit Social Security on the w eb at www.socialsecurity.gov, or call them at 1-800-772-1213 (TTY 1-800-325-

0778). 

 

 

Remember: Keep this Creditable Coverage notice. If you decide to join one of the Medicare drug plans, you may be required 
to provide a copy of this notice when you join to show whether or not you have maintained creditable coverage and, 

therefore, whether or not you are required to pay a higher premium (a penalty). 

Date: May 2020 

Name of Entity: Fauquier County 

Contact: Human Resources 

Office Address: 

320 Hospital Drive 

Suite 34 

Warrenton, VA 20186  

Phone: 540-422-8300 

http://www.medicare.gov/
http://www.socialsecurity.gov/
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Newborn’s and Mother’s Health Protection Act 
Group health plans and health insurance issuers generally may not, under Federal law , restrict benefits for any hospital leng th of stay 

in connection w ith childbirth for the mother or new born child to less than 48 hours follow ing a vaginal delivery, or less than 96 hours 

follow ing a cesarean section. How ever, Federal law  generally does not prohibit the mother ’s or new born’s attending provider, after 

consulting w ith the mother, from discharging the mother or her new born earlier than 48 hours (or 96 hours as applicable). In any case, 

plans and issuers may not, under Federal law , require that a provider obtain author ization from the plan or the insurance iss uer for 

prescribing a length of stay not in excess of 48 hours (or 96 hours). 

 

The Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act 
The Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act requires group health plans that prov ide coverage for mastectomy to prov ide coverage 

for certain reconstructive services. This law  also requires that written notice of the availability of the coverage be delivered to all plan 

participants upon enrollment and annually thereafter. This language serves to fulf ill that requirement for this year. These s ervices  

include: 

 Reconstruction of the breast upon w hich the mastectomy has been performed;  

 Surgery/reconstruction of the other breast to produce a symmetrical appearance;  

 Prostheses; and 

 Treatment for physical complications during all stages of mastectomy, including lymphedemas.  

In addition, the plan may not:  

 Interfere w ith a partic ipant ’s rights under the plan to avoid these requirements; or 

 Offer inducements to the healthcare provider, or assess penalties against the provider, in an attempt to interfere w ith the 

requirements of the law .   

How ever, the plan may apply deductibles, coinsurance, and co -pays consistent w ith other coverage provided by the Plan.  

Protecting Your Health Information Privacy Rights  
Fauquier County Public Schools is committed to the privacy of your health information. The administrators of Fauquier County ’s 

Health Care Plan (the “Plan”) use strict privacy standards to protect your health information from unauthor ized use or disclosure.  

The Plan’s policies protecting your privacy rights and your rights under the law  are described in the Plan’s Notice of Privacy Practices. 

You may receive a copy of the Notice of Pr ivacy Practices by contacting Human Resources or logging into the Benefits Website.  

Know Your COBRA Notification Responsibilities  

It is your responsibility to notify Human Resources w hen a dependent becomes eligible or ceases to be eligible for coverage u nder the 

Fauquier County Public Schools Benefit Plans. All eligibility changes should be reported w ithin 30 days of the event. Failure  to report 

changes in a t imely manner w ill impact your ability to add new ly eligible dependents or discontinue pre -tax premium contr ibutions on 

ineligible dependents. In addition, failure to report a loss of eligibility due to legal separation or divorce or a dependent  that has 

otherw ise ceased to be eligible, such as a child reaching the maximum dependent child age limit, can impact your dependent ’s rights 

for group health plan coverage under the federal law  know n as COBRA. If you fail to report the loss of eligibility w ithin 60 days of the 

event, your dependents may be left w ith no continuation coverage under the Fauquier County Public Schools Benefits Plans. Ple ase 

see your COBRA notice or your Summary Plan Descriptions for each benefit for additional information.   

Fauquier County’s Notice of your HIPAA Special Enrollment Rights  

Loss of Other Coverage -  If  you are declining enrollment for  yourself and/or  your  dependents  (including your  spouse) 

because of other health insurance coverage or group health plan coverage, you may be able to enroll yourself and/or your 

dependents in this plan if you or your dependents lose eligibility for that other coverage or if  the employer stops contribut ing tow ards 

your or your dependent ’s coverage. 

To be eligible for this special enrollment opportunity you must request enrollment within 30 days after your other coverage ends or 

after the employer stops contributing tow ards the other coverage.  

New Dependent as a Result of Marriage, Birth, Adoption or Placement for Adoption -  If  you have a new  dependent as  a 

result of marriage, birth, adoption or placement for adoption, you may be able to enroll yourself and/or your dependent(s). To be 

eligible for this special enrollment opportunity you must request enrollment within 30 days after the marriage, birth, adoption or 

placement for adoption.  You must provide the proper documentation to make these changes. 

Medicaid Coverage -  Fauquier  County’s group health plan w ill allow  an employee or dependent w ho is eligible, but not enrolled for 

coverage, to enroll for coverage if either of the follow ing events occur:  

1.Termination of Medicaid or CHIP Coverage - If the employee or dependent is covered under a Medicaid plan or under a State Child 

Health Plan (SCHIP) and coverage of the employee or dependent under such a plan is terminated as a result of loss of eligibil ity. 

2.  Eligibility for premium assistance under Medicaid or CHIP - If the employee or dependent becomes eligible for premium assistance 

under Medicaid or SCHIP, including under any w aiver or demonstration project conducted  under or in relation to such a plan. This 

is usually a program w here the state assists employed individuals w ith premium payment assistance for their employer ’s group 

health plan rather than direct enrollment in a state Medicaid program.  

To be eligible for this special enrollment opportunity you must request coverage under the group health plan within 60 days after the 

date the employee or dependent becomes eligible for premium assistance under Medicaid or SCHIP or the date you or your 

dependent ’s Medicaid or state-sponsored CHIP coverage ends.  

To request special enrollment or obtain more information, please contact your Human Resources Department.  
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Fauquier County Public Schools 

HIPAA Privacy Notice  

 
This notice describes how  medical information about you can be used and disclosed and how  you can get access to this informat ion. 

Please review  it carefully. 

 

The federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act's privacy regulations prov ide you w ith important rights regar ding use 

and disclosure of your personal health information. This notice describes practices and procedures used by Fauquier County Pu blic 

Schools medical plan (the Plan) to protect the pr ivacy of certain personal health information concerning individuals w ho are 

participants under the Plan, such as you, your spouse, and your dependents. The Plan must maintain the privacy of protected h ealth 
information and provide plan participants w ith a notice about the Plan's legal duties and privacy practices regarding protected health 

information. The Plan is required to use and disclose protected health information as described in this notice. This notice is effective 

July 1, 2014.  

Protected health information (PHI) m eans  health inform ation collected or  received by Fauquier  County Public Schools , the 

Plan, another health plan, a life insurer, a school or university, a health care clearinghouse, or a health care provider that personally 

identif ies plan participants and relates to their health care, past, present, or future physical or mental health conditions,  or past, 

present, or future payments for health care. It does not include certain employment records, such as medical certif ications used for 

compliance w ith the federal Family and Medical Leave Act, federal A mer icans w ith Disabilit ies Act, or w orkers' compensation laws. 

Use and Disclosure of Protected Health Information. Unless  otherw ise perm itted by law , the Plan generally cannot use or  

disclose your PHI unless you authorize the use or disclosure in w riting. How ever, in some cases, obtaining your w ritten authorization 

for certain types of use or disclosure of PHI is impractical or unduly cumbersome. For example, w ritten authorizations are not required 

to use or disclose your PHI for medical treatments, payments of medical bills, and health care operations. In addit ion, a number of 

limited exceptions allow  or require the Plan to use and disclose PHI w ithout your w ritten author ization for certain legal, public health, 

and medical purposes. 

Treatment, payment, and health care operations. The Plan does not need your w ritten author ization or permission to use or dis close 

your PHI for the follow ing reasons: 

 Payment. The Plan can use and di scl ose PHI for  payment of your  health care clai ms. For  exampl e, the Plan can obtai n 

information about your medical diagnosis, treatment, supplies, or procedures from a health care provider and share this PHI w ith 

health plan administrators or insurers for billing, cost shar ing, c laims processing, review  of benefit or coverage denials, and other  

purposes related to administering your benefits and coverage under the Plan.  

 Health care operations. The Pl an can use and di scl ose PHI to Fauqui er  County Publi c School s for  purposes of heal th 

care plan administration. For example, the Plan can use PHI in underw riting, negotiating premiums, assessing rating risks, 

conducting quality assessments and improvement activities, evaluating health care providers, performing audits and legal 

functions, conducting business management and planning, and carrying out general administrative activities.  

 In addition, the Plan can disclose your PHI to certain employees of Fauquier County Public Schools w ho are author ized and 

designated to handle certain health care plan administrative tasks. These employees must protect the privacy of your PHI and 

take steps to ensure that it is used or disclosed only as described in this notice. PHI used solely by Fauquier County Public  

Schools for health care operations is not used or disclosed in connection w ith employment decisions affecting you, such as hiring, 

promotions, layoffs, or terminations. Whenever possible, Fauquier County Public Schools removes information that identif ies 

specif ic plan participants from medical records and uses only summary health data for operational purposes, such as negotiating 

coverage changes, evaluating insurance alternatives, or obtaining cost estimates.  

 Business a ssociates. The Pl an can di scl ose PHI to our  busi ness a ssoci ates for  authori zed plan admi ni strati on needs 

related to payment and health care operations. For example, third -party administrators, auditors, attorneys, consultants, and 

payroll processors are considered our business associates. Our business associates must enter contracts agreeing to safeguard  

the confidentiality of PHI received from the Plan.  

 Health care providers. The Plan can di scl ose your  PHI to health care provi ders and other  covered entit i es as requi red for  

treatment or payment activities. 

 Health care education. The Plan can use and disclose PHI to inform you about alternative treatment options and health -related 

benefits and services that might be of interest to you.  

 Legal, public health, and related purposes. Besides using and disclosing PHI for treatment, payment, and health care 

operations, the Plan is permitted or required to use or disclose PHI w ithout your w ritten authorization for particular purpos es or 
under specif ic conditions including:  

 Legal compliance. The Pl an can use and di scl ose PHI as requi red by federal , state, or  l ocal  laws or  regulati ons, 

or to comply w ith valid legal requests, such as subpoenas, discovery requests, and other court or administrative orders. 

The Plan also must disclose PHI to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services for HIPAA 

compliance purposes. 

 Abuse, neglect, or domestic violence. The Plan can use and di scl ose your  PHI to appropri ate authori ti es as 

required for reporting abuse, neglect, or domestic violence. The Plan informs you w hen making such uses or 

disclosures. 
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HIPAA Privacy Notice  
 

 Law enforcement. The Plan can use and di scl ose your  PHI to l aw enforcement off i cial s wh en repor ti ng a 
suspected w orkplace crime or a death due to a suspected crime. Law  enforcement off icials can request and receive your 

PHI for purposes of locating or identifying suspects, fugitives, w itnesses, or missing persons. Law  enforcement off icials 

also can receive limited PHI w hen needed to identify crime victims, but only w hen you are unable to give consent to 

disclosure and certain other condit ions are met. In addit ion, the Plan can use and disclose your PHI to correctional 

facilities w hen needed for medical or safety reasons. 

 Public health and safety. Various federal public health agencies and certain individuals can receive your PHI to 
address serious and imminent safety and health threats to you or the public. The Plan also can disclose your PHI to 

appropriate authorities w hen required to comply w ith federal Food and Drug Administration regulations or to prevent or 

control diseases, injuries, or disabilit ies.  

 Health oversight committees. In general, government health agencies can receive your PHI for necessary and 

authorized oversight activit ies, including audits, investigations, licensing activ ities, criminal or administrative proceedin gs, 

and inspections. 

 Coroners, medical examiners, and funeral directors. Coroners and medi cal  examiners can recei ve your  PHI for  

identif ication purposes, determinations of the cause of death, or other author ized reasons. Funeral directors also can 

receive your PHI for carrying out specif ic duties.  

 Organ and tissue donation. If  you are an organ or  ti ssue donor , the Pl an can gi ve your  PHI to organ 

procurement organizations or other entit ies for facilitating organ or tissue donations or transplants.  

 Research purposes. The Pl an can provi de your  PHI for  author ized research purposes.  

 Workers' compensation. The Plan can use and di scl ose your  PHI for  workers' compensati on or  related 

purposes. 

 Military or national security functions. If  you serve, have been di scharged, or  are a veteran of a U.S. or  forei gn 

military service, the Plan can provide your PHI as required by appropriate military authorities. The Plan also can disclose 

your PHI for author ized national security and intelligence activit ies. Although your written authorization is not required for 

the above-listed uses and disclosures of your PHI, the Plan releases only the minimum details necessary to carry out 

these authorized functions. In addit ion, your express w ritten authorization almost alw ays is required in these situations  

 Disclosure of psychotherapy notes. The Pl an must recei ve your  authori zati on i n most cases before 

releasing your PHI that relates to psychotherapist notes taken during mental health sessions.  

 Use of PHI for marketing purposes. The Pl an generall y must recei ve your  authori zati on for  usi ng or  

disclosing your PHI for certain marketing purposes. 

Your Rights. You have cer tain r ights  regarding your  PHI. These r ights  include the follow ing: 

 The right to designate a relative or representative to access your PHI. You can provide w ritten notice to the Plan to 

designate a relative, friend, law yer, or other indiv idual as someone closely involved in your health care to w hom the Plan can 

disclose your PHI for any purpose you specif ically permit. This authorization allows the Plan to release all appropriate records to 

your designated representative w ithout obtaining a separate authorization from you for each record request. You can revoke th is 

authorization at any time.  

 The right to request restrictions on certain uses and disclosures of PHI. You can request the Plan to restrict any use or 

disclosure of your PHI for carrying out treatment, payment, or health care operations or to your personal representative, inc luding 

family members. The Plan does not have to agree to your request and can disclose your PHI as allow ed or required by law  or if  

an emergency arises.  

 The right to receive confidential communications of PHI. You can receive PHI com m unications  through alternative 

means or at alternative locations if the communication channels normally used w ould jeopardize your physical safety. To exerc ise 

this right, you must give the Plan a w ritten statement to the effect that disclos ing all or part of your PHI through normal c hannels 

could endanger you. For example, you can request that communications be mailed to you at an address that is different from yo ur 

home address. 

 The right to inspect and copy your PHI. You can make a w ritten request to inspect and copy your PHI that the Plan retains,  

excluding psychotherapy notes, information compiled for use in any legal proceeding, or records otherw ise restricted or exemp t 

from disclosure under federal laws or regulations. The Plan w ill either mail the requested records to you or send you a letter 

explaining w hy your request is denied. The Plan w ill respond to your request w ithin certain deadlines, usually 30 or 60 days, 

depending on how  recently the requested records w ere created and w hether records are maintained on site. If  your request is 

denied, a rev iew  of the denial is available in most cases. 

 The right to amend protected health information. You can amend your  PHI by sendi ng the Plan a wr i tten request 

explaining the need for changing your PHI. Your request can be denied if the PHI is not available for inspection by law  or if  the 

Plan did not create the PHI record, does not maintain the record, or determines that the record is complete and accurate. The 

Plan also w ill amend your PHI if  it receives amended PHI from an appropr iate entity covered by the law . 

 The right to receive an accounting of disclosures of protected health information. You can make a  wr itten request to the 

Plan to prov ide you w ith a statement of the disclosures of your PHI that w ere made by the Plan for up to six years before the date 

of your request. How ever, the Plan does not have to supply an accounting of certain routine or permitted PHI disclosures, suc h as 

disclosures made to your designated  representative or to carry out treatment, payment, or health care operations. No charge 

applies to your f irst request for an accounting of disclosures in a given year. A nominal administrative fee applies if  you s ubmit 

addit ional requests w ithin the same 12-month period; how ever, you can reduce or avoid extra charges by modifying or 

w ithdraw ing additional requests. The Plan w ill supply this accounting of disclosures of your PHI w ithin 60 days after the Pla n 

receives you request unless it notif ies you in w riting of the need for a 30 -day extension. 
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HIPAA Privacy Notice  
 Your rights under state law. In additi on to your  ri ghts descr i bed i n thi s noti ce, you mi ght have additi onal  ri ghts 

regarding your  PHI under the law s of the state w here you live, such as rights relating to mental health, pregnancy, HIV/AIDS, 

and health treatment of minors.  

 The right to receive a privacy notice. Plan parti ci pants recei ve thi s noti ce when they enroll  i n the Plan and you can 

request addit ional copies of this notice at any time. You also can request a paper copy of this notice if you f irst received it 

electronically. The Plan issues notice reminders at least every three years informing plan participants of their right to rec eive this 

notice and w here to obtain it.  

Changes to This Notice. The Plan can change provis ions  of this  notice at any t ime for  compliance or  other  reasons . In 
general, changes to the notice are effective on the date the notice is revised. Plan participants receive information regarding changes 

to this notice w ithin 60 days after revisions are made and can request a revised copy of the notice.  

Complaints. If  you believe that the Plan has  not com plied w ith its  obligations  or  your  r ights  as  descr ibed in this  notice have 

been violated, you can submit a w ritten complaint to Fauquier County Public School's privacy off icer, the Plan, or the Secretary of the 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. You w ill not be retaliated against or penalized in any manner for f iling a comp laint, 

participating in any legal proceeding, or opposing any unlawful act or practice.  

Employer Contact Information. For  m ore inform ation about this  notice or  your  pr ivacy r ights , you can contact Fauquier  

County Public School’s pr ivacy off icer, Benefits and Risk Manager, 320 Hospital Drive, Suite 34, Warrenton, VA 20186.  
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Premium Assistance Under Medicaid and the Children ’s Health Insurance Program 

(CHIP) 

 
If  you or your children are eligible for Medicaid or CHIP and you ’re eligible for health coverage from your employer, your state may 

have a premium assistance program that can help pay for coverage, using funds from their Medicaid or CHIP programs. If you or  your 
children aren’t eligible for Medicaid or CHIP, you w on’t be eligible for these premium assistance programs but you may be able to buy 

individual insurance coverage through the Health Insurance Marketplace. For more information, visit www.healthcare.gov  

 

If  you or your dependents are already enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP and you live in a State listed below , contact your State Medicaid or 

CHIP off ice to f ind out if  premium assistance is available.  

 

If  you or your dependents are NOT currently enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP, and you think you or any of your dependents might b e 

eligible for either of these programs, contact your State Medicaid or CHIP off ice or dial 1-877- KIDS NOW or  

www.insurekidsnow.gov to f ind out how  to apply. If you qualify, ask  your  s tate if it  has  a program  that m ight help you pay 

the premiums for an employer-sponsored plan. 

 

If  you or your dependents are eligible for premium assistance under Medicaid or CHIP, as w ell as eligible under your employer  plan, 

your employer must allow  you to enroll in your employer plan if you aren ’t already enrolled. This is called a “special enrollment” 

opportunity, and you must request coverage within 60 days of being determined eligible for premium assistance. If  you have questions 

about enrolling in your employer plan, contact the Department of Labor at www.askebsa.dol.gov or call 1-866-444-EBSA (3272).  

 

If you live in one of the following states, you may be eligible for assistance paying your employer health plan premiums. The  

following list of states is current as of January 31, 2020. Contact your State for more information on eligibility – 

ALABAMA – Medicaid 
COLORADO – Health First Colorado (Colorado’s Medicaid 

Program) & Child Health Plan Plus (CHP+) 

 h lh

Phone: 1-855-692-5447 

Health First Colorado Website: om/ 

Health First Colorado Member Contact Center:  

    

CHP+: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/child-  

CHP+ Customer Service: 1-800-359-1991/ State Relay 711 

ALASKA – Medicaid FLORIDA – Medicaid 

The AK Health Insurance Premium Payment Program  

Website: http://myakhipp.com/ 

Phone: 1-866-251-4861 
Email:   CustomerService@MyAKHIPP.com  

Medicaid Eligibility: ht /  

 h

Phone: 1-877-357-3268 

ARKANSAS – Medicaid GEORGIA – Medicaid 

 h h o  
Phone: 1-855-MyARHIPP (855-692-7447) 

 h- - premium-payment-
program-hipp 
Phone: 678-564-1162 ext 2131 

CALIFORNIA – Medicaid INDIANA – Medicaid 

Website: h h .
nt.aspx 
Phone: 1-800-541-5555 

Healthy Indiana Plan for low-income adults 19-64  

 h  
Phone: 1-877-438-4479 
All other Medicaid 

 h .

Phone 1-800-403-0864 

http://myalhipp.com/
https://www.healthfirstcolorado.com/
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/child-health-plan-plus
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/child-health-plan-plus
http://myakhipp.com/
mailto:CustomerService@MyAKHIPP.com
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/medicaid/default.aspx
http://flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/hipp/
http://myarhipp.com/
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmedicaid.georgia.gov%2Fhealth-insurance-premium-payment-program-hipp&amp;data=02%7C01%7Cstashlaw%40dch.ga.gov%7C98b18a96ce1b49d087f708d709449652%7C512da10d071b4b948abc9ec4044d1516%7C0%7C0%7C636
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmedicaid.georgia.gov%2Fhealth-insurance-premium-payment-program-hipp&amp;data=02%7C01%7Cstashlaw%40dch.ga.gov%7C98b18a96ce1b49d087f708d709449652%7C512da10d071b4b948abc9ec4044d1516%7C0%7C0%7C636
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmedicaid.georgia.gov%2Fhealth-insurance-premium-payment-program-hipp&amp;data=02%7C01%7Cstashlaw%40dch.ga.gov%7C98b18a96ce1b49d087f708d709449652%7C512da10d071b4b948abc9ec4044d1516%7C0%7C0%7C636
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/Pages/TPLRD_CAU_cont.aspx
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/Pages/TPLRD_CAU_cont.aspx
http://www.in.gov/fssa/hip/
http://www.indianamedicaid.com/
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IOWA – Medicaid and CHIP (Hawki) NEBRASKA – Medicaid 

Medicaid Website: 

Hawki Website:  

Hawki Phone: 1-800-257-8563 

  h .

Phone: 1-855-632-7633 

 

 

KANSAS – Medicaid NEVADA – Medicaid 

  

Phone: 1-800-792-4884 
   

Medicaid Phone: 1-800-992-0900 

KENTUCKY – Medicaid NEW HAMPSHIRE – Medicaid 

Kentucky Integrated Health Insurance Premium Payment  

Program (KI-HIPP)  

Website:  
Phone: 1-855-459-6328 

 
KCHIP Website: 

Phone: 1-877-524-4718 
   h  

 h h ht

Phone: 603-271-5218 

Toll free number for the HIPP program: 1-800-852-3345, ext 5218 

LOUISIANA – Medicaid NEW JERSEY – Medicaid and CHIP 

   h hip

 

5488 (LaHIPP) 

Medicaid Website: h . h dmahs/clients/
medicaid/ 

Medicaid Phone: 609-631-2392 

CHIP Phone: 1-800-701-0710 

MAINE – Medicaid NEW YORK – Medicaid 

 h h u i t ht  
Phone: 1-800-442-6003 
TTY: Maine relay 711 

 

Phone: 1-800-541-2831 

MASSACHUSETTS – Medicaid and CHIP NORTH CAROLINA – Medicaid 

Website: h hh m sh h/

Phone: 1-800-862-4840 

  

Phone: 919-855-4100 

MINNESOTA – Medicaid NORTH DAKOTA – Medicaid 

Website: 
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and- 

see “what if I have other health insurance?”] 
Phone: 1-800-657-3739 

Website: c i

Phone: 1-844-854-4825 

MISSOURI – Medicaid OKLAHOMA – Medicaid and CHIP 

Website: h . . h

Phone: 573-751-2005 

 

Phone: 1-888-365-3742 

MONTANA – Medicaid OREGON – Medicaid 

Website: h hh h

Phone: 1-800-694-3084 

 
h

Phone: 1-800-699-9075 

https://dhs.iowa.gov/ime/members
http://dhs.iowa.gov/Hawki
http://www.accessnebraska.ne.gov/
http://www.kdheks.gov/hcf/default.htm
http://dhcfp.nv.gov/
https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dms/member/Pages/kihipp.aspx
mailto:KIHIPP.PROGRAM@ky.gov
https://kidshealth.ky.gov/Pages/index.aspx
https://chfs.ky.gov/
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/oii/hipp.htm
http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/subhome/1/n/331
http://www.ldh.la.gov/lahipp
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/medicaid/
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/medicaid/
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/medicaid/
http://www.njfamilycare.org/index.html
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/public-assistance/index.html
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/public-assistance/index.html
https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/departments/masshealth/
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/medical-assistance.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/medical-assistance.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/medical-assistance.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/medical-assistance.jsp
http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/medicalserv/medicaid/
http://www.dss.mo.gov/mhd/participants/pages/hipp.htm
http://www.insureoklahoma.org/
http://dphhs.mt.gov/MontanaHealthcarePrograms/HIPP
http://healthcare.oregon.gov/Pages/index.aspx
http://www.oregonhealthcare.gov/index-es.html
http://www.oregonhealthcare.gov/index-es.html
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PENNSYLVANIA – Medicaid RHODE ISLAND – Medicaid and CHIP 

Website:  

 

Website: http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/ 
Phone: 1-855-697-4347, or 401-462-0311 (Direct RIte 
Share Line) 

SOUTH CAROLINA – Medicaid VIRGINIA – Medicaid and CHIP 

 

Phone: 1-888-549-0820 

  

Medicaid Phone: 1-800-432-5924 
CHIP Phone: 1-855-242-8282 

SOUTH DAKOTA - Medicaid WASHINGTON – Medicaid 

Website: http://dss.sd.gov  

Phone: 1-888-828-0059 

 

Phone: 1-800-562-3022 

TEXAS – Medicaid WEST VIRGINIA – Medicaid 

 

Phone: 1-800-440-0493 

Website: http://mywvhipp.com/ 
Toll-free phone: 1-855-MyWVHIPP (1-855-699-8447) 

UTAH – Medicaid and CHIP WISCONSIN – Medicaid and CHIP 

  u

CHIP Website: http://health.utah.gov/chip  

Phone: 1-877-543-7669 

Website: h dh u

Phone: 1-800-362-3002 

VERMONT– Medicaid WYOMING – Medicaid 

W  

Phone: 1-800-250-8427 

 h /

Phone: 307-777-7531 

To see if any other states have added a premium assistance program since January 31, 2020, or  for  more  information  on spe cial 

enrollment rights, contact either:  

U.S. Department of Labor  
Employee Benefits Security Administration 

www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa 

1-866-444-EBSA (3272)  

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 

www.cms.hhs.gov  

1-877-267-2323, Menu Option 4, Ex t. 61565 

Paperwork Reduction Act Statement 
 
According to the Paperw ork Reduction Act of 1995 (Pub. L. 104-13) (PRA), no persons are required to respond to a collection of 

information unless such collection displays a valid Office of Management and Budget (OMB) control number. The Department notes 

that a Federal agency cannot conduct or sponsor a collection of information unless it is approved by OMB under the PRA, and 

displays a currently valid OMB control number, and the public is not required to respond to a collection of information unles s it 

displays a currently valid OMB control number. See 44 U.S.C. 3507. Also, notw ithstanding any other provisions of law , no pers on shall 

be subject to penalty for failing to comply w ith a collection of information if the collection of information does not display a currently 

valid OMB control number. See 44 U.S.C. 3512.  

 

The public reporting burden for this collection of information is estimated to average approximately seven minutes per respondent. 

Interested parties are encouraged to send comments regarding the burden estimate or any other aspect of this collection of 

information, including suggestions for reducing this burden, to the U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Secur ity 

Administration, Office of Policy and Research, Attention: PRA Clearance Officer, 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Room N-5718, 

Washington, DC 20210 or email ebsa.opr@dol.gov and reference the OMB Control Number 1210 -0137. 
 

OMB Control Number 1210-0137 (expires 1/31/2023)  

https://www.dhs.pa.gov/providers/Providers/Pages/Medical/HIPP-Program.aspx
https://www.dhs.pa.gov/providers/Providers/Pages/Medical/HIPP-Program.aspx
http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/
https://www.scdhhs.gov/
https://www.coverva.org/hipp/
http://dss.sd.gov/
https://www.hca.wa.gov/
http://gethipptexas.com/
http://mywvhipp.com/
https://medicaid.utah.gov/
http://health.utah.gov/chip
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p1/p10095.pdf
http://www.greenmountaincare.org/
https://wyequalitycare.acs-inc.com/
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© 2020 Gallagher Benefit Services, Inc.  All rights reserved.  

This document is an outline of the coverage proposed by the carrier(s), based on information provided by your company. It does not 
include all of terms, coverage, exclusions, limitations, and conditions of the actual contract language. The policies and contracts 

themselves must be read for those details.  Policy forms for your reference will be made available upon request. 

The intent of this document is to provide you with general information regarding the status of, and/or potential concerns rel ated to, 

your current employee benefits environment.  It does not necessarily fully address all of your specific issues. It should not be 

construed as, nor is it intended to provide, legal advice. Questions regarding specific issues should be addressed by your general 

counsel or an attorney who specializes in this practice area. 


