
FAUQUIER COUNTY SHERIFF’S OFFICE 
ANIMAL CONTROL 

 

Application for Permit 
 

 To Operate as a Dealer in Companion Animals or a Pet Shop 
 

Companion animals are any domestic or feral dog, domestic or feral cat, non-human primate, guinea pig, hamster, rabbit not raised for human 
food or fiber, exotic or native animal, reptile, exotic or native bird, or any feral animal or any animal under the care, custody, or ownership of a 
person or any animal which is bought, sold, traded, or bartered by any person. Agricultural animals, game species, or any animals regulated 

under federal law as research animals shall not be considered companion animals for the purposes of this application. 

 
New           Renewal                                                                                                                                  Permit fee:  $50 

Business License No. (if applicable)        Check Permit(s) Applied for: 

Name of Facility:        Pet Shop                  
Facility Physical Address:          
Facility Mailing Address:        Pet Dealer  
Phone:          

Owner’s Name:        Operator’s Name:        
Owner’s Physical Address:        Operator’s Physical Address:        
Owner’s Mailing Address:        Operator’s Mailing Address:        
Owner’s Phone:        Operator’s Phone:        
SS#:        Operator’s SS#:       
After hours emergency number:        After hours emergency number:        

  
Total number of companion animals transferred, exchanged, or bartered during previous calendar year. 

If you need to list more than four species of animals, please attach an itemized listing on an additional sheet of paper. 

Type of animal:                                           Number:                     Type of animal:                                           Number:             

Type of animal:                                           Number:             Type of animal:                                           Number:             

What are the arrangements for care of animals when the facility is closed?        

Do you sell, offer or maintain for sale animals at any other location other than the premises for which this application for license is 
being made?  No  Yes  If yes, location:       

Owners are required to maintain the following records, and produce them for inspection by Animal Control Officers upon 
request: 

 1. Copy of County issued permit, posted conspicuously 
 2. Name, address, and telephone number of contracted or preferred veterinarian used to examine or evaluate animals offered for 

sale or returned 
 3. Copy of Fauquier County Business License (if required) 
*4. Pet dealer’s animal history certificate.  Copies for the previous calendar year as required under §3.1-796.78 of the Code of 

Virginia 
*5. Posted or written copy of notice of consumer remedies as required by §3.1-796.81 of the Code of Virginia 
*6. Log book or actual receipts showing origin of animals offered for sale to include:  Name, address and telephone number of 

supplier and date received (this may be actual receipts and must be maintained for 1 year) as required to validate history 
certificates under §3.1-796.78 Code of Virginia 

*For dealers in dogs and cats 

 
I understand that my pet shop/premises may be inspected at least once a year and on complaint.  I hereby consent to inspection(s) by the 
Fauquier County Animal Control Officer.  I understand and agree that by signing this form I am required to provide to the animals in my 
custody adequate daily and veterinary care.  I certify that the information I have provided is factual and that information has not been withheld 
that would affect this application for a permit.  I also certify that neither I, my partners, nor any of my employees have plead guilty, no contest, 
or have been charged with any violations against animals involving cruelty to animals and/or any other criminal-related activity relating to 
animals.   

 
 

Print Name 

 
 

Title 
 

 
Signature 

 
 

Date 

This form is to be completed, accompanied with required fees (checks only, no cash), and returned to: 
 

Fauquier County Sheriff’s Office 
Animal Control 

78 West Lee Street 
Warrenton, Virginia 20186 

 
For Official Use Only:                                      Application Approved      Disapproved  
 
Permit #:                    Permit fee:  $                  Check #:                     Processed by:                                  Date:        



FAUQUIER COUNTY CODE 
 
 

Sec. 4-1. Definitions. 

 
Companion animal.  Any domestic or feral dog, domestic or feral cat, non-human primate, guinea pig, hamster, rabbit 
not raised for human food or fiber, exotic or native animal, reptile, exotic or native bird, or any feral animal or any 
animal under the care, custody, or ownership of a person or any animal which is bought, sold, traded, or bartered by 
any person. Agricultural animals, game species, or any animals regulated under federal law as research animals shall 
not be considered companion animals for the purposes of this chapter.   
 
Dealer.  Any person who in the regular course of business for compensation or profit buys, sells, transfers, 

exchanges, or barters companion animals. The following shall not be considered dealers:   
(1)   Any person who transports companion animals in the regular course of business as a common carrier; or 
(2)   Any person or organization whose primary purpose is to find permanent adoptive homes for companion animals. 
 
 
ARTICLE IV. LICENSING OF PET SHOPS AND DEALERS 
 
Sec. 4-36. Permit required for pet shops and dealers. 

 
It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a pet shop or operate as a dealer in companion animals who does not 
possess a valid permit issued by the animal warden. The permit shall be obtained on an annual basis no later than 
January 31 of each year. The fee for said permit and each renewal thereof shall be fifty dollars ($50.00) per year. 
 
For the purpose of this article, a person who breeds not more than one (1) companion animal not more than one (1) 
time per calendar year and sells, transfers, exchanges or barters the offspring or litter shall be deemed not to have 
done so "in the regular course of business" as set forth in the definition of dealer contained in section 4-1 of this 
chapter. 
(Ord. No. 05-09, 11-10-05) 
 
Sec. 4-37. Recordkeeping by permit holder. 

 
Any person obtaining a permit pursuant to this section shall be required to maintain records as specified by the 
animal warden on the application form. The animal warden shall be permitted to inspect the premises of the facility 
prior to issuance or re-issuance of the permit. 
(Ord. No. 05-09, 11-10-05) 
 
Sec. 4-38. Denial and revocation of permits. 

 
The animal warden may deny issuance or renewals of any permit issued pursuant to this article, or revoke any such 
permit for fraudulent practices or inhumane treatment of animals dealt with by the permittee. 
(Ord. No. 05-09, 11-10-05) 
 
Sec. 4-39. Penalty. 

 
Operating a pet shop or operating as a dealer in companion animals without having obtained such a permit from the 
county shall be a class 3 misdemeanor. 
(Ord. No. 05-09, 11-10-05) 



CODE OF VIRGINIA 

 

§ 3.1-796.78. Sale without pet dealer's animal history certificate violation of Consumer Protection Act; contents of certificate.  

It shall be a violation of the Virginia Consumer Protection Act (§ 59.1-196 et seq.) for any pet dealer to sell a dog or cat within the 
Commonwealth stating, promising or representing that the animal is registered or capable of being registered with any animal pedigree 
registry organization, without providing the consumer with a pet dealer's animal history certificate at the time the consumer takes 
possession of the dog or cat. The pet dealer's animal history certificate shall be signed by the pet dealer, his agent or employee, and 
shall contain the following information:  

1. The animal's breed, sex, age, color, and birth date;  

2. The name and address of the person from whom the pet dealer purchased the animal;  

3. The breeder's name and address;  

4. The name and registration number of the animal's sire and dam;  

5. If the animal has been so examined, the date on which the animal has been examined by a licensed veterinarian, the name and 
address of such veterinarian, and a brief statement of any findings made; and  

6. A statement of all vaccinations administered to the animal, including the identity and quantity of the vaccine, and the name and 
address of the person or licensed veterinarian administering or supervising the vaccinations.  

The information contained in the pet dealer's animal history certificate required herein shall be informative only, and the pet dealer shall 
not be responsible in any manner for the accuracy of such information unless he knows or has reason to know that such information is 
erroneous.  

A copy of the pet dealer's animal history certificate signed by the consumer shall be maintained by the pet dealer for a period of one 
year following the date of sale.  

(1984, c. 492, § 29-213.48; 1987, c. 488.)  

§ 3.1-796.81. Written notice of consumer remedies required to be supplied by pet dealers.  

A pet dealer shall give the notice hereinafter set forth in writing to a consumer prior to the delivery of a dog or cat. Such notice shall be 
embodied in either a written contract, the pet dealer's animal history certificate or a separate document and shall state in ten point bold 
face type the following:  

NOTICE  

The sale of certain dogs and cats described as being registered or capable of being registered with any animal pedigree organization is 
subject to the provisions of the Virginia Consumer Protection Act (§ 59.1-196 et seq.). In the event that a licensed veterinarian certifies 
your animal to be unfit for purchase within ten days following receipt of your animal, you may choose: (i) to return your animal and 
receive a refund of the purchase price, or (ii) to return the animal and receive an exchange animal of your choice of equivalent value.  

In order to exercise these rights you must present a written veterinary certification that the animal is unfit to the pet dealer within three 
business days after receiving such certification.  

If the pet dealer has promised to register your animal or to provide the papers necessary therefor and fails to do so within 120 days 
following the date of contract, you are entitled to return the animal and receive a refund of the purchase price or to retain the animal and 
receive a refund of an amount not to exceed fifty percent of the purchase price.  

(1984, c. 492, § 29-213.51; 1987, c. 488.)  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+59.1-196
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+59.1-196

