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 Virginia Department of Education 
 Division of Teacher Education and Licensure 

P. O. Box 2120  
Richmond, VA 23218-2120 

  
APPLICATION FOR A PROVISIONAL (SPECIAL EDUCATION) VIRGINIA LICENSE (Page 1 of 3) 

 

APPLICATION FEE:  Initial License (Fee:  $50 in-state; $75-Out-of-state)     

Make checks payable to Treasurer of Virginia.  The fee is nonrefundable.  There is a $35 fee for a returned check. 

PART I--INFORMATION     PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE 
Social Security Number 

 

Date of Birth   (Month/Day/Year) 

Last Name 

 

First Name Middle Name Suffix (Jr., Sr., III, etc.) 
 

Address (Street, City, State, Zip Code) [Please note that the address provided is public information.]*
 

Daytime Telephone Number (include area code) 
(              ) 

Home Telephone Number (include area code) 
(          ) 

Gender (for statistical purposes only) 
_________   Male                    _________ Female 

Race (for statistical purposes only - check one)                  ______ 1.  American Indian/Alaskan Native                           _____ 2. Asian or Pacific Islander  
                     _____ 3.  Black (not of Hispanic Origin)                  _____ 4.  Hispanic                               _____ 5.  White (Not of Hispanic Origin)  

*THE APPLICANT MUST NOTIFY THE OFFICE OF LICENSURE, DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, IN WRITING OF AN ADDRESS CHANGE. 
 

PART II 

Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to, a felony anywhere in the United States?        
          (If yes, please attach a letter of explanation and a copy of the court documents indicating judgment and disposition of the  
          case from the court of conviction.) 

 
___Yes

 
___No 

Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to, a criminal offense in another country or a U.S. 
territory? 
          (If yes, please attach a letter of explanation and a copy of the court documents indicating judgment and disposition of the  
          case from the court of conviction.) 

 
___Yes

 
___No 

Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to, a misdemeanor involving children (minor)?  
         (If yes, please attach a letter of explanation and a copy of the court documents indicating judgment and disposition of the 
          case from the court of conviction.)                              

___Yes ___No 

Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to, a misdemeanor involving drugs (not alcohol)? 
         (If yes, please attach a letter of explanation and a copy of the court documents indicating judgment and disposition of the case 
          from the court of conviction.) 

___Yes ___No 

Have you ever had a teaching, administrator, pupil personnel services, or other education-related certificate or license 
revoked, suspended, invalidated, cancelled, or denied by another state, territory, or country; surrendered such a license; or 
had any other adverse action taken against such a license?  
           (If yes, please attach a statement giving full details and official documentation of the action taken.)  

 
___Yes

 
___No 

Have you ever been the subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect by a child protection agency? 
          (If yes, please attach a statement giving full details and official documentation of the founded complaint.) 
 

 
___Yes

 
___No 

Have you ever left any education or school-related employment, voluntarily or involuntarily, while the subject of an 
investigation, inquiry, or review of alleged misconduct or when you had reason to believe an investigation of alleged 
misconduct was under way or imminent?  
          (If yes, please attach a statement giving full details and any official documentation available regarding the investigation,  
           inquiry, or review.)     

 
___Yes

 
___No 

To your knowledge, are you currently the subject of any investigation, inquiry, or review of alleged misconduct that could 
warrant discipline or termination by a school division or other education-related employer or an adverse action against a 
teaching, administrator, pupil personnel services, or other education-related license or certificate?  
          (If yes, please attach a statement giving full details and any official documentation available regarding the investigation, 
           inquiry, or review.)      

___Yes ___No 

 

BY MY SIGNATURE, I CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION ON THIS THREE-PAGE APPLICATION IS ACCURATE AND 
COMPLETE.  I UNDERSTAND THAT MISREPRESENTATION MAY RESULT IN THE DENIAL, REVOCATION, CANCELLATION, OR 
SUSPENSION OF THE VIRGINIA LICENSE. 
 

Date _____________________________________         Applicant’s Signature ________________________________________ 
 

The application is continued on the following page.   Pages 1, 2, and 3 of the application must include the applicant’s signature on each page.   A 
complete application must be submitted.  Incomplete applications may not be retained longer than one year.                      
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PART III--EDUCATION (Only colleges and universities--BA/BS and MA/MS) 

Name of Institution Location Dates Attended Degree  (if  earned) Major/Major Subjects 
 
 

 
   

 
 

 
 
 

  

 
 

 
   

 
 

 
 

 
   

 
 

 
 

PART IV--EXPERIENCE (Grades K-12 only -- Full-time, contractual experience only, not substitute, summer school, or aide) 

Name of School Location Dates of Employment  
(Month/Year to Month/Year) 

Grade(s)/Subject(s) Taught 

 
 

 
  

 
 

 
 

 
  

 
 

 
 
 

  

 
 

 
  

 
 

 
 

PART V--OUT-OF-STATE EDUCATIONAL LICENSE – This section must be completed, if applicable.  (Enclose a copy of each license.) 

 

State:                                                      First issue date:                                                                        Last expiration date: 

 

State:                                                      First issue date:                                                                        Last expiration date: 

 

State:                                                      First issue date:                                                                        Last expiration date: 

 
 

PART VI--COMPLETE IF YOU HAVE ACCEPTED A POSITION IN VIRGINIA REQUIRING A LICENSE 
 
Name of Employer :                                                                  Beginning Date of Employment:                                        Assignment: 

 

Address: 

 
BY MY SIGNATURE, I CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION ON THIS THREE-PAGE APPLICATION IS ACCURATE AND 
COMPLETE.  I UNDERSTAND THAT MISREPRESENTATION MAY RESULT IN THE DENIAL, REVOCATION, CANCELLATION, OR 
SUSPENSION OF THE VIRGINIA LICENSE. 

 
Date _____________________________________         Applicant’s Signature _________________________________________________________ 

 
Pages 1, 2, and 3 of the application must include the applicant’s signature on each page.   A complete application must be 
submitted.  Incomplete applications may not be retained longer than one year.    
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Virginia Department of Education 

Division of Teacher Education and Licensure 
P. O. Box 2120  

Richmond, VA 23218-2120 
 
PART VII – CERTIFICATIONS FOR A  PROVISIONAL (SPECIAL EDUCATION) VIRGINIA LICENSE 

          The Provisional (Special Education)  License is a three-year, nonrenewable teaching license issued to an individual employed as 
a special education teacher in a public school or accredited special education school in Virginia who does hold the appropriate special 
education endorsement.  The Provisional (Special Education) License is not applicable to individuals employed as speech pathologists.  
To be issued the Provisional (Special Education) License an individual must meet the following criteria: 
  
 Be employed by a Virginia public or nonpublic school as a special educator and have the recommendation of the employing 

educational agency; 
 Hold a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited college or university; 
 Have an assigned mentor endorsed in special education;  
 Have a planned program of study in the assigned endorsement area, make progress toward meeting the endorsement requirements 

each of the three years of the license, and have completed coursework in the competencies of foundations for educating students 
with disabilities and understanding and application of the legal aspects and regulatory requirements associated with identification, 
education, and evaluation of students with disabilities.  A survey course integrating these competencies would satisfy this 
requirement.  The Provisional (Special Education) Virginia License through this alternate route shall not be issued without the 
completion of these prerequisites.; and 

 Have completed the child abuse recognition and intervention training and training or certification in emergency first aid, 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), and the use of automated external defibrillators (AEDs).   

 

Please print or type: 
Name of School Division or Accredited Nonpublic Special Education School: 
 
Name of Teacher (First, Middle, and Last Name): 
 
Social Security Number of Teacher:  
 
Special Education Endorsement(s) Requested (The endorsement area requested must correspond to the teacher's assignment.): 
 
_____  General Curriculum  _____ Adapted Curriculum  _____Early Childhood Special Education  _____ Hearing Impairments 
_____  Visual Impairments   
 
Mentor Teacher Assigned to Teacher (The mentor teacher must be endorsed in special education.) 
 
Name: ___________________________________   License No. or Social Security No. ________________________________ 
 

 
          By my signature, I verify that I understand the criteria for eligibility for the Provisional (Special Education) License, and I 
understand that I must complete the requirements for the license and endorsement (teaching) areas within the three-year validity 
period of the Provisional (Special Education) License. 
 
_____________________________________________________          ____________________________________________ 
Signature of Teacher Applicant                                                                  Date 
 
 
          By my signature, I assure that the teacher requesting the Provisional (Special Education) License meets the criteria listed above 
and is the best qualified applicant for the position.  I further certify that the school division has advertised the position and made 
reasonable efforts to recruit and hire qualified individuals.  Documents of these assurances must be maintained in the school 
division’s/school’s office. 
 
_____________________________________________________          ____________________________________________ 
Signature of Superintendent/Director of Nonpublic School                       Date 
 
_____________________________________________________ 
Printed Name of Superintendent/Director of Nonpublic School 
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